Puzzle fuss-le, post-holiday bustle

January 11, 2010 § 8 Comments

We bought the puzzle pre-Christmas and oh, the family was going to sit around and puzzle ’til it was done. Ah, yes, but sitting around to puzzle for the pre-christmas days is a pipe dream. Everyone is shopping, working, wrapping, planning and partying.

And there it sat, ye olde puzzle.
Unwilling to give it up though and as “little Christmas” neared, Nory got it in her head that could and would finish. And there we were, after the first days back at work, rushing home to cook, clean up, be quickly witty at the table and then dash off to the dining room to “puzzle.”

HM and Snarl would walk in and watch and cheer us on, then return to their tech toys. When Nory sets a goal, that’s all there is to it. She finished in triumph on our third night of “getting it done.” (In the last few hours of it, I feigned being busy elsewhere not being fond of piecing the sky together.)

It deserved being photographed.
Note that two pieces are missing and here’s why:
1)  Jack (Nory’s dog) had a hankering to chew up one piece (bottom, just left of center by the “fence”)
2) One piece went missing. It’s up there, on the left, a border piece. We were most careful but given that it moved two tables from the one where it started, lucky we just “misplaced” the one.

And from this, we went to Soduku and games of Apples to Apples. If you haven’t given that one a whirl with friends and/or family, I recommend it. Also great to kickstart conversation.

Now, what will kickstart this evening’s writing? I’ve no idea…yet.

Tagged: , , , ,

§ 8 Responses to Puzzle fuss-le, post-holiday bustle

  • Lisa D says:

    Fun! I adore puzzles. I put one together w/ my aunt & grandma when I was home for Christmas. I have one in my closet that I might tackle this weekends.

    Apples to Apples is such an awesome game. It’s become a favorite in our family. My favorite card is ‘festering wound’.

  • oh says:

    oh geez, Snarl would have loved that card, too. I can’t think of any I had other than “the Midwest” and playing that one won me the green card!

  • shoreacres says:

    I’ve never been a game player except for Scrabble and cribbage with my dad, but puzzles were a staple of my childhood. That’s what I did when I was sick enough to stay home from school but not nigh unto death. I still remember two: Carlsbad Caverns and the Sonoran desert.

    Have you ever tried one of the 3-D puzzles? I haven’t, but a friend swears by them – and at them!

  • ds says:

    I love puzzles! One New Year’s at MIL’s she decided it would be fun to get the random assembled extended family to attempt a 3-D version of the Capitol. OY! It is amazing that any of us are still speaking…

  • Nora says:

    Hey, the puzzle looks pretty cool when put together and on the internet =)

    I think we need another event during which we play Apples to Apples!

  • typehype says:

    Your post brought back memories of my grandmother’s summer house in Fort Salonga on Long Island. On her screened-in porch she had set up a table dedicated for jigsaw puzzles. That first summer, my cousins and I worked on a 1,000 piece affair, a landscape, every weekend that we’d come to visit. It lasted us the entire summer. When we finished it, my grandmother swept the pieces off the table and placed them back in the box. The following summer, the table was set up again. The only problem was, sitting on top of it was the exact same puzzle we’d solved the year before! Not one of us felt that we had the energy to piece it together again, especially that dreaded sky! But, we broke into the box and, little by little, started piecing it together. There’s something addictive about puzzle-solving, isn’t there? Most likely, it’s the camaraderie.

  • Arti says:

    I haven’t done a puzzle for… oh maybe decades! The last one I completed was a 1000 pc. Sahara Desert. That did it. But your post here has aroused interest in me… umm maybe just 500 pcs. to warm up after all these years! Your family fun time sounds… heavenly.

  • […] Despite our best efforts, sometimes a do-over isn’t possible. During last year’s holiday season, when a friend and her family completed their traditional jigsaw puzzle, it was lovely but imperfect. Two puzzle pieces were missing, and there was nothing to be done. Not one bit embarassed, my friend posted a photo of the puzzle in her blog with a few words of explanation. […]

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Puzzle fuss-le, post-holiday bustle at This Writing Life ....

meta

