Miami nice …

January 20, 2010 § 10 Comments


Cafe cubano
Cuban espresso
Cafecito
Cuban shot…
Call it what you will, but a coffee anywhere on North, Mid- or South Beach is bliss in a cup.
Specially if one had given up caffeine early in December. Yes, purposely.
But HM ordered the Cuban coffee (pictured).
And wooed me with it. I broke down and tilted the tiny cup to my lips, and sipped. One sip. Mmmm…Not the most intellectual response, I know, but oh baby, luscious coffee laced with caffeine. And yet I demured. One sip and one sip it was. 
 Sheer luxury.

So what’s the big deal with Cuban espresso? 
I’ll leave a bit of that to irrepressible Wikipedia:

Cuban-style espresso is made by adding sugar to the container into which the espresso will drip, allowing the espresso to mix with the sugar as it is brewed. Some people believe that this results in a smooth, sweet espresso. A method commonly used to prepare a café cubano is to initially add only the first few drops of espresso to the sugar and mix vigorously. This results in a creamy, light brown paste. The remaining espresso is then added to this paste and mixed, creating a light brown foam layer, espumita, atop the coffee. A proper cafecito can be made using either an espresso machine or an Italian moka pot, macchinetta.”

Going south? Along with all the rest of the magic to be found in Miami, have yourself a Cuban cuppa jo.

Tagged: , , , ,

§ 10 Responses to Miami nice …

  • shoreacres says:

    But don’t stop – keep going, down to the Keys and Key West. Get up early, walk Caroline or any of her cross streets in the humid haze. Look for the single table, the open door, the scent of sugar on the air. Have a pastelito with your Cuban coffee – you’ll feel ready to walk the ninety miles to Havana, but you won’t have to, because it tastes as good in Key West as it would there.

    I know, I know – the Cafe du Monde is wonderful, but there is nothing in the world like a Cuban coffee.
    Nothing! I’m glad you reminded me, but now I’m ready to go again!

    • oh says:

      Shore – I have not even YET been to the Keys! and I know I’ll love it there. Your comment aobut the pastelito enabling me to walk to Havana made me laugh out loud! Ah, I’ll bet it’s delicious, heaven in a cup…

  • ds says:

    Alas, I have never been to Miami, but I have tasted the cafecito thanks to you, and it is GOOD!

    • oh says:

      Dear DS – It’s funny the places you go that you never planned but there you are (for business, husband’s business) and you are so agog with the place, you fall in love with it. And you think what a huge place all this is, bumping and grinding and living and working and whirling along. It’s different than book traveling (reading), but I wouldn’t give up either kind of travel, would you?

  • jeanie says:

    A new post by you is always a reason to celebrate! If I drank coffee, maybe I’d try that!

    • oh says:

      Jeanie! the crazy thing is, I’ve given up coffee and caffeine. But hey, a little taste went a long way.

      Funny how some things are good and special but in that place where you firt have them, only. Like, I wouldn’t make a Cuban coffee here in STL. It just doesn’t …go…with it.

  • Nora says:

    Wikipedia! reminds me of eddie izzard now 🙂

    • oh says:

      Nor – oh, yeah! He is so hip. Honestly, I’d go see him again. And I’m not really a show/concert/stand up person, either. Ah, but the magnificent Izzard…!

  • Lisa D says:

    Yum! I want one now. And a vacation to somewhere warm and sunny!

    • oh says:

      You know what, Lisa? I think a vacation is in order if possible. Especially this time of year. And going south is a cure for the post-holiday, mid-winter blues, even if you don’t suffer from them.
      I was plesantly surprised by Miami. And you would LOVE it. Essentially, it’s cram packed with 6 million people of all ages, very international, very slick, very hip and plenty of fashion from very cool to very are-you-kidding-me? and all of it mixed together, with tons of glitter on belts and outrageous shoes and even in the heat, they’re wearing boots!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Miami nice … at This Writing Life ....

meta

