Bookalicious

March 1, 2010 § 12 Comments

Can we get enough? No, never.
Enough what, you ask?
Enough books, book places, book sanctuaries, book-ness, I answer, straight-faced.

Her’s a place in STL, if you arrive here and are suddenly overwhelmed with that craving (addiction) to get into a bookstore. It’s the Book House, on Manchster.
It wouldnt be so bad, really, to have one’s house look like this, would it? (OK, maybe a little over the top, but that’s how we book lovers are!)

We spent several hours there on Sunday. I got lost in the fiction area which is entirely possible once you locate the step stool and say a few words to the cat that lounges in the window. HM went upstairs and a I heard the scrape of a chair and smiled and later, having climbed the narrow front stairs, found him in the poetry room, folded into a small chair, with books on his lap and one opening, reading.  Two rooms away, Nory was going through autobiographies. She’s an eclectic reader like her dad; she had a copy of Hepburn’s “ME” in her hand for purchase.

Imagine going to someone’s house where you could browse, read, find a chair, and thousands of books, of all types, arranged nearly artfully, inviting you to have a look, have a read. Take one home.

And so we did.



Tagged: , ,

§ 12 Responses to Bookalicious

  • typehype says:

    Oh, how I love these old bookshops. They are so rapidly disappearing. I don’t know if you remember any from NYC. Gone now is my favorite, Gotham Book Mart on W. 47th St. (“Wise Men Fish Here” said their hand-carved banner) and Coliseum Books at Columbus Circle, to name just two. The Strand is still here; Paragon is, too, I think. More continue to survive, but you have to wonder, for how long? Thanks for sharing your very special shop. It looks like the perfect escape from the daily grind. It was fun visiting it through your images. I can just smell the wonderfully musty pages!

  • Heather says:

    OMG! I LOVE this place! Get me a cot and pillow and I’m moving in!

  • Carrie says:

    I think I’d still be there! I’ll be so sad if stores like these don’t survive…

  • shoreacres says:

    There’s an independent bookshop down the street from me that’s been around for decades – and the wonderful irony is that it’s painted the same red shown on the trim in your photo, and then trimmed with the cream and green! Is this the going thing for bookshops? Is there shop-fashion, too? More research is required!

    Surely your wonderful place would have a book or two to start us on our way!

  • Arti says:

    oh,

    Glad to see you back blogging again. And what a wonderful place this book house is, fairytale-like too. It’s good that you have it so large, instead of fitting it in to your text column. That’s a great idea. Ironically, I have a little photo of an independent bookstore closing its doors posted on my current post… The Banff Book and Art Den. Used to be my favourite place to visit whenever I went to Banff. Ah… sign of the times for us here in Alberta… hopefully not in your neck of the woods.

  • ds says:

    Love it, love it, love it. Surrounded as we are by chains (take that however you will), it is wonderful to see a thriving indie. Of course, the BFF has one, but visits are scarce now and it is a fair drive. Saw also a lovely independent in between watching CS swim. Ahhhh…

    And yours has a poetry room???? Swoon…
    So glad to see you, it’s clear where you’ve been hiding 😉

  • jeanie says:

    I want to be there! Oh, how lost we could get with all these wonderful books, cozy chairs, and tall aisles! And it’s just as lovely outside! I can’t believe there is a whole room for poetry. And I loved how you smiled when you heard the chair…!!!

  • Lisa D says:

    * Squeels *

    I need to visit this place. Looks amazing!! Definitely on the list of things to do when I come to visit – hopefully some time soon!!

  • justicejenniferreads says:

    Wow, that looks like a wonderful place and it sounds like you had a wonderful time there. Honestly, one day, when I own a house, I plan to have bookshelves all over the place. Maybe not quite as many as this book house, but a LOT.

  • oh says:

    HI to everyone and thank you for your comments. I am going to buzz over to visit each and every one of you this evening, as a reward! (been doing a long haul of projects at work and also scribbling away to fill a journal.)
    I am delighted to hear from you and will “see” you this evening!
    signed, Oh

    and I can tell this morning that Spring is just around the corner!

  • seachanges says:

    What a wonderful place, I could look at that picture for hours. The house is inviting, and what would a house be like without books? I cannot imagine!

  • diane says:

    Oh, Thanks so much for stopping by to wish me well on the job. I so appreciated that. I’m also thrilled to have discovered your blog in the process –it’s new to me (now added to my google reader)…it’s great!

    This adorable book shop looks like heaven. I could spend the whole day in a place like this (especially on a rainy day).

    Have a great weekend and thanks again!

    Diane

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Bookalicious at This Writing Life ....

meta

