PS to prior entry on “Romance”

May 1, 2010 § 5 Comments

Bobbi Smith didn’t have books with her to sell. They had been selling them at the conference bookstore for two days prior, but I didn’t know yet that I wanted to read one of hers!
So I asked her to sign my notebook, which she happily agreed to do. (Oh yeah, I have an author-sign-my-book thing. Can’t help it. And when in a pinch, I grab whatever’s in my purse.)

And so after leaving the workshop, which was odd to do after being with the same huge crowd of writers-at-a-conference for three days, and I was going to “miss” being there, I went straight to the bookstore and there was one, yes, one, of Smith’s books left on the shelf.

I bought it. It’s in my purse.
You know, in case I have a lunchhour with no hurried harried errands to do or in case I get stuck in line at the bank or the ice cream drive thru. BTW, Smith has met and chatted with Fabio, who used to grace the romance covers. Actually, those were paintings done for the covers that now go for exorbitant amounts (upwards of $25K.)

Tagged: , , , , ,

§ 5 Responses to PS to prior entry on “Romance”

  • Heather says:

    Isn’t getting an author’s signature so cool! Just as good as Brad Pitt or George Clooney (or maybe not!).

    • oh says:

      Yup, book geek, I am – I would likely choose an authors autograph over Pitt or Clooney. I would not, however, disdain an autograph from Sean Connery.

  • Bellezza says:

    I’d grab whatever’s in my purse for an autograph, too. Although, the poor author would probably be signing his/her name with a lipstick on a Kleenex. I’m woefully unprepared for life’s emergencies with the small bag I carry. I love how the author wrote, Love ya! So warm!

  • jeanie says:

    Author’s signature? Well, duh! Of COURSE! So, tell us what you think when you finish!

  • madeleine says:

    This is so very cool, Bobbi seems like a very nice person.

    Yes, I also like to know what you think of the novel when you get done. I have never read a romance novel.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading PS to prior entry on “Romance” at This Writing Life ....

meta

