“Who has seen the Wind …”

May 8, 2010 § 12 Comments

“Who has seen the wind?
Neither you nor I…
But when the trees bough down their heads
The wind is passing by.”
– Christina Rosetti

The wind began banging and blowing at everything during the night …


(Lucky!  There were no eggs, no feathers, no sign of anything amiss other than this finely made home, empty, on the ground. I interfered only to gently turn it over with my shoe. And there was nothing beneath nor in the vicinity which left me to hope that the home was abandoned long before it was blown out of the branches.)

The wind is still knocking around the neighborhood today, chiming, rushing and ringing…


I’m clawing through the closet for the stored sweatshirts, needing one to wear on a “fall” walk on this spring saturday.
What else can pass so invisibly yet with such presence and power?

BOOKS…
WHEREIN WIND PLAYS A SIGNIFICANT ROLE…

ANY OTHERS COME TO MIND WHERE THE WIND IS A CHARACTER OR FORESHADOWS?

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

§ 12 Responses to “Who has seen the Wind …”

  • shoreacres says:

    I’m all about wind tonight, myself. My wonderful tuned windchimes (aeolian, tenor) are ringing for what may be their last evening of the spring. They ring only on NW-NE winds, and the prevailing southerlies are about to set it. I’m trying to make myself stay up as long as I can to enjoy them!

    As for windy-lit, how about “Gone With the Wind”? “The Wind in the Willows”? “The Ghost of Windy Hill”? “Inherit the Wind”?

    That’s all I can think of – but I’ll not cheat and google! What fun!

    • oh says:

      Ah, “Shore,” you’re hot on the trail of the “wind” books. I have yet to read GWTW yet – does wind actually figure into the story? I’ve always wondered (but yes, I saw the movie 3 times at the theatre …. years ago; it was a great date movie, had an intermission and all…
      Anyway, no, I haven’t googled, either…and in fact, didn’t know that “Tess” included wind as a provacative element. HM mentioned that to me and I DID look that one up and sure enough, the wind is an elemnent that keeps popping up.
      Yes, let’s see what else blows in this direction regarding books with “wind” in them.
      Hope all is well. I LOVE chimes. Your chimes sound lovely – isn’t it fun to know things about the weather based on natural/nature-y things around you?

  • It was so windy here last week. There was a day I seriously wondered if my windows were going to blow in!

    I really need to read the book, “Chocolat”. Loved that movie!

    • oh says:

      Lisa! You will like Chocolat (the book) and you probaby know that there is a sequel: THE GIRL WITH NO SHADOW. Same mother and daughter but years later and now in Paris. (no river pirate).
      You’ve given me an idea for another blog entry! Anyway, keep an eye for THE GIRL…(I think it’s differently titled in the UK), and so far, no movie from that one.

  • qugrainne says:

    I adored book and movie Chocolat but I do not like the wind (to be out in, anyway). It makes me very, very nervous.
    And all I could think of was the pirate song:

    Come all ya young fellers that follow the sea,
    With a yo ho! Blow the man down,
    Now just pay attention and listen to me,
    Give me some time to blow the man down.

    I assume it is talking about the wind, but I don’t know for sure….

    It is cold here – had to cover my basil tonight with frost warnings the third night in a row. Spring, where are you!!??

    • oh says:

      that pirate song! You’re right. It’s gotta be the wind. Never thought about it. Will see what’s up with it…ok, “wiki” says it’s the act of knocking a man to the ground in a fight… hmmmm…

      Hope your basil made it through the cold weekend nights!

  • Carrie says:

    Loving that wind chime!

    • oh says:

      You’re back! thanks goodness – wondered about the volcano. Glad everything (finally) connected for you.

      BTW, can I have a sleepbox tucked into the corner of my office at work?

  • Carol says:

    Diana, Greetings from New Jersey. My husband is out in Saint Louis on business, and I thought of you and the nice days of young motherhood. Coffee and getting together to let Leanora and Katie play. I always knew you would be a wonderful writer. I enjoyed reading your blog. I would love to hear from you if you have time.

    • oh says:

      OMG – Carol!!!! How did you find us/me? And how is Jersey? Didn’t we have a grand old time when the girls were littel? (Well, we still are, but you know what i mean?)
      Do I miss the East Coast? Sure, but we’ve been here long enough that it’s home sweet home now.

      I can’t believe Joe is here on business! Hope all is well with both girls. I STILL have pictures from way back then….What is Katie up to, and Grace? (oh, geez, I have the names right, don’t I?)You have to write again.
      And thanks for your very kind comments!

  • jeanie says:

    Oh, dear — I hope the fact you saw no “signs” meant all were safe. I hated it when I found a similar situation once after returning home. I didn’t see “signs” either, but I’ve fretted about those baby robins for five years now.

  • Carol says:

    Hello again! It was great to see your response. You are right….we are still having a grand old time and better be! I am glad that you find St. Louis to be home sweet home. It seems like a really nice city. I hope you don’t mind. I googled your name……and came up with the article about your networking event at Campbell Plaza. It mentioned your blog which is great. I really enjoyed this one about wind and the one about characters. I would love to bring you up to date on Katie and Lizzie(Elizabeth Grace, so you were very close!). Don’t you remember my horror when Joe and my sister dubbed her Lizzie? Now that I am back in touch with Jane Austen, I don’t mind having a Lizzie for a daughter. I thought I would send an e-mail to “Walking with Nora” with my e-mail address. Do you think that would be okay? I love Nora’s blog too. I do remember her by her full name. She sounds like a literary girl too. I look forward to hearing more about you and your family.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading “Who has seen the Wind …” at This Writing Life ....

meta

