Saturday…justanote

May 22, 2010 § 15 Comments


I thought about reading.

But the sun is out, and  I’m up and about in wonder and awe. OK, there are workers banging around in our backyard, too,  (just beneath the master suite windows, actually) digging and tearing up our old concrete patio to put in some nice groundwork and angles and pavers and whatever HM planned with them. The dogs are up, pacing nervously from room to room on the tips of their toenails, their tails rigid with concern.

And yet HM sleeps. That man has a finger on the pulse of inner peace.

I’m outta here with my camera and shall come trotting back with something to share besides the coffee I’m set on getting…elsewhere!

HEY! There’s a book giveaway over at the Literary Lollipop! It closes on May 31. Go take a look; she’s added some “mystery’ to the prize!

Tagged: , , , , ,

§ 15 Responses to Saturday…justanote

  • shoreacres says:

    You have concrete rippers, while I have a barge parked outside my front door. I’m not sure what it’s purpose is, but it’s a very nice, very large barge. A family had a picnic on it last night.

    I suppose they’ll use it to do some marina work eventually. In the meantime, it’s just lazing around – like you! Enjoy your morning – it will be fun to see what catches your photographic eye!

    • oh says:

      Phew! I’ve been in a deadline funk so even with my camera in hand, it took some revving up to get anything but my latest blog post took a stab at it….I must give myself a creative deadline and stop chasing all the other ones I take on!
      Ran out into the early morning today to snap a few pics around the property…hopefully the Muse will run with me to day!

  • ds says:

    I so love it when you go daytripping with your camera. Have fun–and a huge coffee 😉

    • oh says:

      I didn’t get the coffee!!!!! maybe that was the misstep…either that or it’s the construction chaos at our house…my friend in renovation says such projects pay off, one must simply grit one’s teeth. Consider mine “gritted!”

  • anno says:

    There’s something wonderful about waking up to a Saturday with construction already in progress; the feeling that there’s something useful going on that doesn’t require your presence, lets you head, guilt-free, out of the house for coffee & picture-taking. Hope you enjoy a lovely day!

    • oh says:

      I did enjoy, although was more of a mute observer rather than an active one. But, breakthrough today! Snapping away out there and now a week later, let’s see what I can find!

  • Awesome! Thanks for the link. 🙂

  • jeanie says:

    YOu gotta do what you gotta do! There will always be a book stack!

  • mandy says:

    I hope you found something relaxing to occupy your time. Though reading out in the sun probably would have been my choice. Its incredibly fun though to take the camera and go exploring your neighborhood capturing candid moments.

    • oh says:

      Mandy – oh yes, we’ll be reading in the sun on our chaises as soon as the guys finish building the patio. Sheesh. In the meantime, I flit around and don’t find myself reading ’til late at night. Reading THE HELP (yeah, i know, I’m late getting to that one) and I love it.

  • It’s not fair, is it? These guys who stay so relaxed while we flit around…

    I always kind of hope that we somehow can absorb some of their calm. (And, sometimes, that they will absorb some of our do-it-ness!)

  • shoreacres says:

    So… you trotted off with your camera. We need a report! What lovelies did you find? What beauties record? Tell, woman! Your public awaits! 😉

    • oh says:

      Morning, Linda! (a week later) Ah, well, now here’s a day to get out and embrace it all, after a crazy week. (I won’t say “busy” – that doesn’t work – too clicheed and sounds like a cop-out).
      Honestly, wouldn’t mind sitting on a boat with you while listening to the water lapping, (even though I’d get all in a tangle about the sanctity of the water.)
      But it’s summer and there’s something positive about that and I’m going to stir the creative pot. AND, I have a lot of questions about your “manniequin trip” so more on that later!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Saturday…justanote at This Writing Life ....

meta

