Sunday morning…

June 20, 2010 § 11 Comments

Stone bunny posing as Huck Finn

(Photo taken in front yard. I never lie in the grass. Why not? Time? Ticks? Too silly? Little matter; this was a photo occasion and it felt good, kinda like seasonal reverse snow angels.)

Book Thoughts (based on stone bunny) and
potentially perfect “summer reads”…

STONE DIARIES by Carol Shields.  I see this book at book fairs, used, left behind, waiting for someone to snap it up. HM gave it to me years ago. One of my first Canadian authors. I loved her writing. Loved it. Can’t tell you what the story is about, but the book stays on my shelf, neither loaner nor giveaway.

CUTTING FOR STONE by Abraham Verghese  This one was recommended here in book blog world. And it was on the buy two-get three free table. I purchased it. It’s to be one of several “summer” reads.

THE SWORD IN THE STONE which is really (based on) THE ONCE AND FUTURE KING by TH White and worthy of a re-read, it’s ginormous size (length) notwithstanding.

STONES INTO SCHOOLS:PROMOTING PEACE WITH BOOKS, NOT BOMBS, IN AFGHANISTAN AND PAKISTAN by Greg Mortenson who also wrote THREE CUPS OF TEA, also an excellent book and both get five star reviews on good old Amazon.

STONES FROM THE RIVER by Ursula Hegi. I shall never forget the first page where we meet the narrator who hangs from branches and doorjambs to make herself taller. She is not. She genetically small. And despite the pain throughout the book, the writing keeps the reader going. And it’s a tale of a town and its people as they live through and suffer through WWII. And wouldn’t you know that as I write this, the ending eludes me so no spoilers here! You have to read the writing, though.

TEACHING A STONE TO TALK by Annie Dillard. OMG, also worthy of a re-read. I loved this book (again, it’s a writing thing.)  Honestly, we need to rent a cabin and spend a week reading and re-reading. I promise not to talk except at mealtime (at which point you could likely not get me to shut up), but  wouldn’t it be awesome to have a reading retreat? anybody? anybody? Buehler?

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

§ 11 Responses to Sunday morning…

  • typehype says:

    Love the bunny picture. I can just feel the cool grass against my skin. And smell it, too.

    I’m reading Annie Dillard right now (“The Maytrees” — wonderful). I will put “Teaching a Stone to Talk” on my A.D. list! I loved her book on writing. I also like Carol Shields, particularly “Unless.” Particularly since it was her last novel. So poignant.

    Are you sweltering in the heat like we are here in NYC? Blech…

    • oh says:

      T – Did NOT know about Shields’ last novel. I just put it on my Amazon wish list (where I keep all books desired cuz it’s an easy place to store that list…)

      So glad you enjoy Dillard, too. She’s an artful writer. I think she secludes herself as she writes, though, and I’m beginning to think I need to do the same, I mean, just to get something on paper to begin with. How’s your painting going?

      • typehype says:

        I do the same thing (store my desired books on Amazon’s wish list)! I’m glad I’m not the only one. Sometimes, I feel guilty about it. I also read their reviews and free first pages to see if I want to read the book — then try to get it at the library (still conserving shelf space and dollars…) before I move over to ABE and buy the book at a discount. More guilt. Sorry, Jeff Bezos. Although, he’s rich enough. You’re right about Dillard. In her book on writing, she has holed herself up in an old shack (fisherman’s shack? I forget). She sits on a stiff-back chair, too. That I could do without, but I’m with you re the seclusion. Definitely needed and sorely missed…to the point of rudeness, at times.

  • mandy says:

    Lying in the grass should be mandatory. I do it from time to time myself and its a favorite past time. I’m currently reading Cutting for Stone. I’ll have to check out some of the others.

    • oh says:

      M – Ah, so you’re reading Cutting for Stone? Can’t remember who mentioned it, but I do look forward to it. At the moment, though, I can’t seem to concentrate on one book. I’m all over the place. Rather annoying.Will see what I can settle down with this evening.

  • ds says:

    Great picture! Confess to giggling at the thought of “grass angels” (though it would be fun, like rolling down hills. When did we become to old for that? Or did we?)Am proud to admit that I’ve read all but the Mortensen (which was lent to me so will be read someday) and the Verghese. Will wait for your thoughts on the latter. You are so right about the rest. Re-reads are in order.
    Happy Summer–it’s official now…

    • oh says:

      Dear DS – I am truly a believer that great books create great friends. And great writers are the link. Yes, I will let you know once I start the Verghese book – honestly, may I have a day off from work? And not tell anyone so that I can just be outdoors, reading? what a winning combo!

      more later!

  • jeanie says:

    Great bunny! Like the stone refs — Sword and the Stone, anything with Arthur is always good by me!

    • oh says:

      what is it about ARthur and that Round Table? Always a good tale…can’t even say how many times (and versions) I’ve watched Camelot, too.

  • Nora says:

    I should read the Sword in the Stone real book. I didn’t know it was a “real” book!

    • oh says:

      Oh, Nor, it’s a long one. I confess to not having finished it. Should do it this summer along with GONE WITH THE WIND. Yeah, so keep an eye on me!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Sunday morning… at This Writing Life ....

meta

