Wednesday I’ve got Friday on my mind…

June 23, 2010 § 21 Comments

I forgot what you call this drink but it’s Campari and orange juice and it just screams “summer.”  One lasts for a long time and does not impede the tongue, the brain, the writing or reading process.
Funny thing, though. It makes housework, lists and honey do’s go away.

Book recommendations, based on the above:
THE BLOOD ORANGES by John Hawkes. I read this in college, sometime after my study abroad when I was introduced to blood oranges and loved them. However, the book fell flat for me in comparison to the experience and the taste of those odd mystical little oranges that we scompfed down, always thirsty.

GREENGAGE SUMMER by Rumer Godden. It’s one of those books you might have read ages ago but you remember it, remember that you loved it and you wish you had purchased it rather than borrowing it from the library. Now it’s no longer in print! A coming of age story, set in the French countryside, about a gaggle of children and their mum, but mostly the children.  And well worth the read… a different kind of summer read.
PS A greengage is a green to yellow plum-ish fruit, sweet and delicious, and considered a “dessert plum.” Yum.

Tagged: , , , , , , ,

§ 21 Responses to Wednesday I’ve got Friday on my mind…

  • That drink look delish! Perfect summer concoction!!

    I def need to check out thqat Greengage book. As a Francophile, I am a sucker for anything set in France. 🙂 My to-be-read list just keeps growing and growing. I am longing for some days off where I do nothing but read. Sounds heavenly.

    I am also SO ready for Friday. This week has exhausted me for some reason.

    • oh says:

      Lisa! Hope this Saturday morning is off to a great start – on doing nothing and enjoying yourself! Sheesh, we work hard in this country.
      Yes, I think you’ll like the Rumer Godden book. It kinda suits this weather right now, much more than it would in August.
      And so saying, I’m headed outdoors to read for a bit on the porch! Happy weekend!

  • jeanie says:

    Great new look and good recommendations, too! That drink looks wonderful. Maybe I’ll splurge this weekend when I open the cottage!

    • oh says:

      Jeanie – Hope to hear all about the weekend at the lake AND some pictures. Yes, hope you’re splurging AND celebrating as you open the cottage – what fun.

  • Arti says:

    Yay to summer reading… look forward to your book reviews in the days ahead. Have a great summer!

    • oh says:

      Thanks, Arti – Summer is a fave; i embrace it as though I am getting out of school (yup, even after all these years, I have the summer vacation mindset!) And so work seems easier and the days are long so you can still DO things in the evening. Now, my summer reading pile is immense, but I am actually going to try and read GONE WITH THE WIND, which I’ve started no less than five times over the past 20 years. But I have a beautiful copy and it seems like one of those classics I should get through. But first, I just have to finish reading a book of short stories by Raymond Carver. Geez, he’s a little depressing. Or is it realism? I dunno. More later.

  • typehype says:

    I believe the drink is called Campari Orange. No, seriously, I really think it’s called that. I’d love to have one right about now — if only I had a patio! And a backyard!

    To be honest, what I like best about summer is that it’s closer to fall. But, maybe if I had a yard with a nice loggia covered in jasmine…dream on.

    • oh says:

      Jasmine! Excellent idea. Wonder if it would grow here. But instead of the loggia, you have the city at your feet, albeit throbbing with the summer heat. It’s still one cool place to be.
      I’m going to try ordering the Campari Orange if we go out tonight and see if I get a blank stare or a nod that says “got it.”

      Thinking of all the scents and smells of summer in the City and remembering how we’d then drive out to Reis Park for the whole day on the beach. Ah!
      Hope your painting is going well!

      • typehype says:

        If not jasmine, then honeysuckle.

        The painting is going, that’s the main thing. Thanks for asking! Similar to writing, at least in my own mind, I’m only as good as the last piece I’ve created. That’s the curse of making art. Fortunately, I like this latest one — that’s the blessing.

  • ds says:

    LOVE the edgy new look! Interesting choices of books. Don’t know either book, but have read stuff by each author–a long, long time ago. Hawkes was quite strange (Lime Twig, I think it was); Godden a delight. Will have to find these somehow. You’ve evoked memories with this one!

    • oh says:

      Yes, Hawkes was strange. Why did I read him? some collegiate influence at the time, no doubt.
      I’m making some coffee to take outside with a book. What is UP with this obsession to finish reading a book even if I’m not in love with it? I dunno. (the book is THIS IS YOUR BRAIN ON MUSIC.)

  • shoreacres says:

    Oh, how I long for the days when summer meant something other than packing and evacuating and months of anxiety. So much for the romance of life along the Gulf Coast!

    I might well try and find these books and tuck them into my evacuation kit – wouldn’t that be a good idea? Since Campari and soda is my favorite summer drink, I’ll add some of that. Voila! No more talk of evacuation – it’s an “unplanned summer getaway”!

    • oh says:

      Dear Shore, Just sent you an email. If you’re hitting the road, put us on your map. Seriously. I’ve been cruising the news this morning, looking for a stop-the-oil miracle. Don’t know why I think I’d find that in the news to begin with, but hope springs eternal.

  • qugrainne says:

    Holy macaroni! Love the new look… you have been having fun experimenting!!
    The drink looks so yummy. My latest favorite, served by a friend a few days ago and now always available in my frig, is green tea and mango juice over ice. After the first sip, I closed my eyes and I was in Bali. Hurrah for summer!
    And it is Friday. All good things at once! Greengages and blood oranges and campari and no more honey do’s! I’m down with that 🙂

    • oh says:

      Q – (loved your ‘holy macaroni!” ) Yeah, I think I”ll settle on this template for awhile – have been searching on and off for weeks and actually think it’s affected my blog writing/attendance, not having one I liked.
      So, I’ll attempt to stay current here this summer – ahahaha.
      How’s the wee one at your house? And the doggies?
      My recipe for this summer: read, sip, read, sip, read, sip. Chat for a moment. Read, sip, read, sip. More later!

  • Heather says:

    This drink looks so good, I bet it would taste exceedinglt good in a flask velcroed under the desk at around 3:30 p.m.!

    • oh says:

      H, ah, the flask idea. However, given that little tasty, I would only want to lean back in my chair and stare out the window rather than going blind at the PC, rewriting and fixing “things” at the zero hour on a Friday. Egads. Got it done, though and now, the weekend in all its humid bliss!

      yes, OC conference at my house!
      more later!

  • Terri B. says:

    That drink looks so good I want to lick my computer screen (but I won’t)! And the Rumer Godden book sounds absolutely delightful. Can I just disappear into this post for the summer??

    • oh says:

      Terri, LOL at the effect of the drink picture! I searched my own shelves and no longer have my copy of Greengage Summer so I might just try to find a copy on Amazon. Wonder if it’s still as good as when I first read it? I imagine yes.

      And now, to go outdoors and read a bit, finishing a few books that just plain need finishing and then jumping into the next one…and I’ve said I’ll read GONE WITH THE WIND. Hope I don’t hear the movie soundtrack as I read it!

  • Bellezza says:

    When I opened this page, my husband (who was looking over my shoulder) asked, “What’s that drink?!” We immediately wanted one! Does one mix equal parts Campari and juice, or 1/4 Campari to 3/4 juice? It’s a most lovely color, and a most appealing looking concoction!

    • oh says:

      Dear Dolce, You can do one part Campari to 2 parts OJ, but husband recommends experimentation, especially in regard to the “color” you like as the OJ hits the Campari. (We don’t measure, really!)

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Wednesday I’ve got Friday on my mind… at This Writing Life ....

meta

