Writing in the dark…

July 24, 2010 § 17 Comments

(poolside, just after twilight…)

As we sat there, two cicadas, apparently having sworn a suicide pact, dive-bombed into the pool, their shrill buzzes going soggy, then silent.

We cheered Snarl who immediately went into the pool to fish them out.
“One’s upside down!” he shouted.
“Hurry!” I called from my safe seat at the wood table where the summer beer bottles were lining up and the little “Off” fan was keeping away the giant feeding mosquitoes.
“Got ’em, got ’em both!” he yelled back and walked out of the water, both cicadas clinging to the side of his beer bottle.
“Don’t bring them to the table!” Nor said. “Don’t!” and she jumped up and ran to the back door, but quickly returned.
“Huge moth at the patio door,” she whispered to me, and slid back into her seat.
Snarl was taking the big buzzers to one of the trees at the fence edge.  They had shaken off their momentary stun.

Summer sings. It flaps and flies. It laughs.
And soars.

Tagged: , , , , ,

§ 17 Responses to Writing in the dark…

  • ds says:

    *giggle* Poor Nora! Caught between cicadas and a moth. I wouldn’t like it much, either; the laugh is from the telling of it.

    • oh says:

      I’m afraid I’ve been a bad influence in terms of fleeing from bugs! I hear a buzz and I’m on my feet and ready to flee. But I’m getting better…Nora is funny, though and gets her very serious (and sometimes cynical) brother to laugh!

  • shoreacres says:

    I love cicadas. The louder, the better. I stalk them sometimes – hard to see in crepe myrtles, especially, but that’s one of their favorites spots down here.

    I describe autumn and winter in smells, but summer is sounds. There are the cicadas, nighthawks, fish jumping in the water – all wonderful.

    Good for Snarl, says me. Loud, buzzy things need love , too.

    • oh says:

      I hope Snarl sees your comment – he’ll love it.
      And you’re right – autum and winter are “smells” while summer sizzles with sounds.

  • CLo says:

    Yup, I’ve been saving bugs from the pool for almost two decades. It’s bug karma. They leave me alone now.

    • oh says:

      I’m working on it – I’m workin on it! the bug karma thing. sheesh. Tonight, I cleaned out the skimmer, in the near-dark, using my hand. And didn’t freak out…too much…at the thought of something insect-y being in there and crawling up my arm.
      Success!

  • jeanie says:

    Well, all I can say about this is that you have really terrific kids! Rescuing cicadas takes a special soul. Glad they made it through.

    Must be hot in your neck of the woods! Hang in there!

    • oh says:

      Jeanie!
      Oh yeah, ooooeee – it’s hot. And the air is thick with things buzzing! (including the foolish ringing vibration of inanimate air conditioners.) Snarl is pretty funny, though, when it comes to teasing his sister, without even having to go very much out of his way.
      The cicadas thrived, btw.
      As for me, I stick with the rodent rescue: chippies, squirrels and little micies who mistakenly trip into the pool from time to time. (We think it’s sometimes because they’re hoping for a drink.)

  • qugrainne says:

    Summer sings and soars is great, but cicadas…. they give me heebie jeebies! Sorry…
    They also remind me of HOT summer days, which I can do without!!
    Snarl was very generous, but I am cowering with Nora.
    A cold beer by the pool sounds delightful – so glad you have time to enjoy your kids 🙂

    • oh says:

      mmmm…the only time I can drink beer is when it’s so hot, all I can taste is the cold of it. And Nora is happy to hear you’d cower, too. “See?” she said. “See? I’m not the only one!”
      Happy summer as it lazes and flashes along!

  • Nora says:

    Ah, my brother, always saving bugs and putting them NEAR me. I am glad they were saved, honestly. Just would have rather not had them on the patio table!

    • oh says:

      Your brother knows how to get a rise out of you! but you’re right – cicadas on the table? um…pardon me while I jump in the pool to avoid them!

  • seachanges says:

    Life in a hot climate – how I envy you! Not the bugs though. Great imagination.

  • oh says:

    I am crazy in love with summer. It’s the perceived freedom that comes with it. But you have the seashore nearby, right?

  • Becky says:

    Hahaha I can just picture Nor doing that! What a great evening you had!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Writing in the dark… at This Writing Life ....

meta

