Paper zen…

August 10, 2010 § 24 Comments

I promised that I’d post some “pages” that I did one night nearly two weeks ago.
I call it therapy. I have no idea what I’ll do with it.
 It is about pasting paper onto paper and seeing what you get.

I saw a woman do something like this in a movie whose title I don’t remember. She glued pictures that she had saved on paper, making actual scenes out of them. Nice stuff, but not her really her work and she realized that.  However, by the end of the movie, she was doing her own paintings rather than working with snips of other people’s art. Transformation. Exercise and transformation.

Who knows what breakthrough(s) such stuff will bring to light?

Mine, too, are magazine pages and some photos and artsy bits – stuff I collect cuz I can’t stand to throw my magazines out (completely).

And for some reason, playing with paper can patch up a work-bent day and restore it.

What will I do with these? Actually, they’re intended, by their size, for a photo album. Forget that. I’ll likely write some little stories and find a way to tie it all together. Or, not.


da dum dee dee dee dum…just fooling with bits of things…


And now I’m reading Julia Cameron’s THE SOUND OF PAPER and darn if she doesn’t offer an exercise that says to take paper and pictures and stick them on a piece of paper and see what you get, naming it if you can.  Well, I’ll be darned.

Anyway, here you go, Jeanie.  This is what I came up with that night!
My next post will have the Barbie and Midge pictures I promised to T. HM says they’re “odd” but I don’t know, there’s something there to work with…stay tuned. You’ll see.

Tagged: , , , ,

§ 24 Responses to Paper zen…

  • anno says:

    completely enchanting… the process of collage mystifies and confounds me; I adore it, can’t figure out what to do with it, I admire your bravery in taking it on… beautiful, just beautiful results.

    • oh says:

      Anno! So glad to hear from you! ah, how nice of you to call playing with paper bravery…I page through wonderful magazines and those Somerset magazines (also as therapy) and am agog at what people “put together” with paper and their “scraps.” Hope all is going well with teaching and your trees and summer life on those gorgeous acres up north!

  • ds says:

    Very cool!I especially like the last one. There’s a definite story there…

    • oh says:

      Dear DS – wow, I’ve become the “sporadic” blogger. I can’t help it. It’s so beautiful outdoors, even though it’s been terrifically hot. But summer is so special and the evening hours so dear and after a corporate day and using PCs, yikes, I sometimes, ok, no, I often demure when it comes to opening my laptop! I do believe with the onset of fall and the excitement of everything “new,” I’ll be a better, well, more frequent anyway, blogger!

  • Arti says:

    I used to immerse in such crafts a few years back… collages and mixed media paper arts and book making. Really curious as to what that movie is. Let me know when you remember.

    • oh says:

      Arti – I have quizzed HM, giving clues about the movie to have him help me remember the title. OMG, he doesn’t even remember the movie. If i could just think of the actress’s name, I could find it. It was an ensemble movie, with several stories happening at once. As soon as I find it, you’ll know!

      And after last week and this one so far (in terms of work), methinks I’ll be applying myself once again to the ease of paper and glue!

  • jeanie says:

    Well, my friend, these are pretty darned wonderful! (And I love the quote about charity work!) I can’t decide which I like best, though I agree there is a story with that last one!

    Love the colors you used — nice composition, the whole nine yards! Mostly I love that you finally did it! And you’re right — it’s one of the best therapies I know, and cheaper than a shrink! (Till you start buying all that stuff to stick on all the stuff you stuck together!)

    • oh says:

      Dear Jeanie – you are so supportive. And my mentor….!
      I am closing in on another hour or two for playing with all the cool paper and art stuff that’s stashed upstairs in my office. And yet the siren call of summer constantly beckons – I am outdoors as much as possible in this gorgeous summer stuff and love the indigo evenings. Thus the blog and other such pursuits languish. I will up the ante soon as we swing into Fall. Yay!

  • Sue Z says:

    I like your “study in orange” at the bottom of the post. It makes me think of Paul Bowles and “The Sheltering Sky” — seashore notwithstanding. How nice to see some art!

    • oh says:

      Oh, Sue – I cannot call it art. Especially knowing the art you do! I think it’s just a paper thing and now while the house is quiet, I should likely engage again in such a gentle pursuit (as pasting paper on paper!) but I am compelled to at least write responses to those of you kind enough to drop by and say hello.
      Maybe I should make some coffee…and get into a more creative mode rather than pondering a nap!

  • Heather says:

    Very nice. I need to do more of layering and mixed fibers, etc. Looks good.

    • oh says:

      Dear H, When we do get together for our writer conversations, you know we’ll have to drag in some “scrapping” and journaling as well!

  • Ruth says:

    This is cool, Oh. I like how it’s recycling. I love paper too. One of my therapies is to wrap a gift in cutouts from magazines — I adore it!

    Some time ago we found a book my grandma had put together. It was just a big book, and she had glued pages of all sorts of things, so it was a scrap book. What a treasure.

    • oh says:

      Ruth – so you found a family scrapbook? those used to be so popular to make and have and keep. I started a scrapbook in elementary school – it’s sole topic was horses – pictures and articles torn from the newspapers about horses.

      Your grandmother’s is such a find, such a treat, such a way to know/understand a family member.
      ANd I’ll bet your packages look too good to unwrap. We adore wrapped packages – why, I wonder? must be the mystery of it. no, the prettiness of it?!

  • Richard says:

    Zen is in all we do. You have found a neo-zen portal. Open it wide. Thanks for sharing.

  • Damyanti says:

    Very textured, and each piece seems to have something to say. I hope you take this further.

    • oh says:

      Damyanti – How lovely of you to stop here and leave a comment. Yes, I am using the above pages to create a writer’s journal. They were supposed to be pages where I’d glue photos that I’ve taken. Looks like they’re taking a different direction after all. Thanks for visiting!

  • Becky says:

    Ooh I love them!

    • oh says:

      Becky – How ARE you? BTW, your rice crispie treats were fabulous. I came home from work that night they arrived, spied them on the counter and didn’t even ask Nor – I just took one and bit into it to claim it! Delicious!
      Your blog is so much fun. You are so good at keeping it up. I hope with the change in the weather I will at last come indoors and blog and cook, etc. But right now, I just want to be outside – it’s a summer thing!

  • Carrie says:

    Yea for paper therapy. I’m so glad you’ve jumped right in. One of my favorite sayings, “You don’t have to know where you are going to be headed in the right direction.”

    Keep playing with paper…and thanks for posting them. It’s not always easy.

    Cheers and have a lovely weekend!

    Carrie

    • oh says:

      Thanks, Carrie! You have such a talent for “paper” stuff so I will take your advice/quote and keep at it. Maybe in a few minutes. Seems to be just the thing after a day that went a bit too long and a bit too crazy at work.

  • shoreacres says:

    That second one – “interesting times”. It reminds me of the ancient Chinese curse – “May you live in interesting times”. And there it is, juxtaposed with that large square of black and white floral that reeks of the 1950s – in many ways, a most UNinteresting time.

    Cognitive dissonance rocks!

    • oh says:

      Linda, linda, Linda – I love it – “cognitive dissonance” in regarding my glue-paper-scissors project! and the ’50s reference to the black and white floral.
      You have to know that someone gave me that floral paper. I did not choose it. In fact, you would likely be floored (as in surprised) by some of the paper that I do choose to save or purchase.
      I must get over to your place…I’ve been doing the summer thing and not so much the laptop thing.
      Hope all is well in your waters.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Paper zen… at This Writing Life ....

meta

