Lunch hour…Monday

August 23, 2010 § 12 Comments

Strong coffee.
Strong bracelet: this one has a twist: it says “Write strong.”
Strong writing on magazine page.

Here’s to lunch hours far from the madding crowd, and when not writing, reading.
(OK, this is as far “away” from the crowd as I can get during the work week.)

Tagged: , , , , , , , , ,

§ 12 Responses to Lunch hour…Monday

  • mandy says:

    The absolute best way to spend a lunch hour!

    • oh says:

      Dear M, Glad you agree. Sometimes I think I should socialize, but find myself running out the door for that hour of … reading freedom!

  • shoreacres says:

    There’s that “pink thing” again! And a library card – aren’t those keychain cards great?
    And I’ll bet you could say it, too, right along with the person on the page: “Actually, I’m just glad to be alive…”

    • oh says:

      Linda – LOL! the “pink” thing! Yup, my silly little very dated cell phone! And yeah, me and the library – we’re doing better, yup, doin’ better. Glad you read some of the words in the story…. and thanks for making me laugh!

  • Jeannine says:

    Great pic – I love that little crochet kitty purse, really cute.
    I used to love lunch hour when I had to endure the corporate world. A little furlong from captivity in the middle of the day. That hour of natural light away from neon interiors made me feel human again!

    • oh says:

      Jeannine, yes, yes, that’s it – “a little furlong from captivity” as you so perfectly put it!!! funny thing, I either carry these few little bits of things OR this huge huge purse in which I could pack for a trip to Paris.

  • Lunch – I loved that break at work. I’d often walk to the library – fresh air and books always made the back half of a work day easier to endure.

    • oh says:

      Ryshia – thanks for stopping by…I wonder how many people across the country actually read at lunch? Seems like there are a lot of us – thankfully. Books rule.

  • jeanie says:

    Now THAT’s a lunch hour. What story in the New Yorker are you reading?

    • oh says:

      oh, Jeanie – I don’t remember the title of the story but it’s written by Sam Shephard. Yup, the Sam Shephard. Now, which issue was I in? hmmm….will have to source it. It wasn’t a favorite but it is memorable nonetheless. Also because at the end, I said to myself: what does it mean? what happens next?

  • Damyanti says:

    I work from home, so lunch hour can be as long or short as I like. And it is nearly always spent reading more than eating.

    • oh says:

      Damyanti: that is such bliss, to have a flexible lunch hour. and reading more than eating? a perfect combo. So, what books/stories go best with lunch?

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Lunch hour…Monday at This Writing Life ....

meta

