book “cool”

October 24, 2010 § 9 Comments

It’s all about used, I mean, recycled books, mags, movies, instruments, electronics and DVDs at Bookmans, in biz for 30 years now in Arizona, specifically the Tuscon, Phoenix, Flagstaff and Mesa areas.
Its six stores totalled retail space comprise 114,000 square feet and it continues to re-define recycled as it grows, simultaneously offering cultural events, classes (like Yoga) and fundraisers and it fights sincerely against censorship. 
Who couldn’t love it? Bookmans also has a blog.
One more major thing: the Bookman stores are also pet-friendly. Geez.
Oh yeah, and offer free Wi-Fi.

 Road trip, anyone?

PS Apparently online purchasing via Bookmans is coming soon! 
Me likey.

So go ahead, check out the youtube video for fun. It’s dominos –  with books!

Tagged: , , , , , ,

§ 9 Responses to book “cool”

  • typehype says:

    OMG, I’ve been there so many times! I’m a Grand Canyon junkie and in love with Flagstaff. It’s the BEST book store!!! They sell coffee, too, and have comfy couches and stuffed chairs. They even sell used magazines. The staff is super nice. I can’t believe you found them on YouTube. Very cool, indeed.

    • oh says:

      Wow, you’ve actually been there! and coffee and comfy chairs? I fill like filling out a job application for the place, sight unseen, and moving there. Or, maybe just visiting there every day for a week or a month or ’til I get somehting written. Sounds…lovely.

  • Arti says:

    This is so cool! Is that for real or just visual effects? I’d love visit Bookmans, but I’m thousands of miles away … don’t think they’ll open a branch up north?

    • oh says:

      Arti! I know, I too am a bit far away – maybe two days of driving by my calculations. Maybe we should just all arrange to meet there next summer. Or, do a bookstore tour. I dunno, but I’d love a chance to do a blog rendezvous at a place like this. Don’t know if they’ll be opening up in the north, but we sure could use one here in STL. Yes, we have bookstore, but can we have too many? especially of this nature (and we don’t really have anything similar here)! Maybe we should start writing to them!

  • jeanie says:

    Flagstaff? Going in December! I’ll find it!

    • oh says:

      What? You get to go? Oh, you gotta visit the store and come back with some pictures and anecdotes! I would be thrilled to hear your first-hand report! How cool is that!

  • qugrainne says:

    Are you doing NaNoWRi Mo this year??

  • oh says:

    Q! I haven’t totally decided. I’m leaning towards “no” because I’m on this “thing” where I’m trying to put together a collection of short fiction. Why? I dunno.One step at a time.

    How ’bout you?

  • ds says:

    Me likey, too. (Not likely to get there anytime soon, however.) But I pity the poor employee who then had to pick up & reshelve all those books–or is it electronic magic?

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading book “cool” at This Writing Life ....

meta

