Happy Halloween! though an “inky” day, not one on which I’ll do much writing…

October 31, 2010 § 3 Comments

Morning…
I called The Mud House this morning at 8:30 a.m. to set an interview with one of its owners. They have early hours (take a look) so figured my chances were good, and they were there. It’s set; we’ll talk tomorrow. I wished they  could have passed one of their well-known art-techie lattes to me through the phone.
In the meantime, there’s a bit of homework to do about the place and while the website is good (and well designed), the pictures I’m after are in their Facebook album. And I just de-activated my FB account the other day. Drat. 

And…
I haven’t written a darn thing in my journal, my coffee is a bit weak (HM is sleeping in following a howling crazy party we costumed up for and attended last night in the city so I made coffee this a.m. …bleh) and there are a million things that need doing while my pen lies quietly…just … over there…on the desk.

Why on earth we haven’t had a president who runs on the three-day-weekend ticket is beyond me. With a little rest and a little more time for all of us on the homefront, we’d be far more productive and a lot more fun, overall.  I digress.

Meanwhile…
Everything is conspiring to  make it a Halloween-y Eve!
Huge bowls of candy, silly strobe lights to set in the darkened rooms of the house, eerie spooky music to blast into the front yard from the Zune, more leaves than I can rake thus leaving hundreds of them underfoot to crackle and swoosh at each step, and there’s a bit of wind, if it sticks.

Offbeat…
Had to share these great craft papers from Graphic 45 tho’ I’ve no idea at the moment what I’ll be doing with them. But I’m an ALICE IN WONDERLAND fan/devotee and needed them. 
The designs are on heavy stock and likely ATC or bookmark ameable but somehow, that seems so…”done.” Will come up with something “Alice-y” to do with them, but for now…

This is “Alice” gone a tad Halloween…

Tim Burton would have to love these interpretations of the classic drawing.

Now where would the Hatter get himself a piece of candy corn?

So…
We’re gearing up for the neighborhood which is packed with “littles.” Nor and I will be in costume to answer the door; we’re not letting HM dress up – he’s too scary, so he’s in charge of lights and technical effects.

And in hopes of keeping away from the candy, I’ve set out some apples for Nor, HM, and me and there are four different cheeses in the fridge, too, you know, to feed those hard-working hand-out-the-candy characters! Hope it works, but I’m skeptical. I’ve already had a mini Almond Joy, and it’s not even noon. Egads.

TOP SCARIEST BOOKS…
PS Debnance did a cool booklist – she listed her top 10 scariest books.
Great idea.
And so to share (and because imitation is sincerest form of flattery), I offer my top 7 scariest books, herein (top 7? yup):
1) The Exorcist – Wm Peter Blatty
2) The Children’s Hour – Lillian Hellman
3) The Tommyknockers – Stephen King
4) Cruddy – Lynda Barry
5) The Vanishing Act of Esme Lennox – Maggie O’Farrell
6) The Legend of Sleepy Hollow – Washington Irving
7) Turn of the Screw – Henry James

Tagged: , , , , , , , , ,

§ 3 Responses to Happy Halloween! though an “inky” day, not one on which I’ll do much writing…

  • Bella Rum says:

    Halloween sounds like so much fun at your house. We love it too. It’s my favorite holiday. I love this time of year. I would stop by for the cheeses if I lived in your neighborhood. How nice is that? Hope you had a very scary Halloween.
    Bella

  • mandy says:

    Hope Halloween was wonderful! I visted my teenage cousin who had surgery last week and is currently in the pediatric intensive care unit, the nurses were all dressed in an Alice and Wonderland theme. The costumes were amazing.

    The description of your house reminds me of a house in my neighborhood that was quite scary as a child, strobe lights and all.

  • jeanie says:

    Three day weekend, three day weekend! Vote THREE DAY!

    Love the Alice papers and your festivities for Halloween. Sounds like a wonderful evening in your house — far better than ours, with bronchitis running rampant. Got my high speed and have much to catch up on with everyone, but I have to see your mom’s journaling story!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Happy Halloween! though an “inky” day, not one on which I’ll do much writing… at This Writing Life ....

meta

