winter knocks and enters…

December 1, 2010 § 17 Comments

Pine in early fall, photographed at Big Cedar.

Pine in (very) earlyDecember (using photo filter to imagine how it will look when winter touches it).

We had flurries last night.
The air is dry and cold and hand cream is already necessary.

A  winter note…on wearing mittens and lipstick:
Don’t wear both. One gets stuck in the other, when for instance, you cover your mouth when you sneeze outdoors, or if you were to take a warming swipe at your cold nose, or if you’re brushing crumbs from your mouth. (Why are you eating outside, with mittens on?)

Anyway, all those tiny little mitten hairs love to stick to lipstick. And lipstick loves to implant itself among those luxurious mitten fibers.
So if forced to choose between the two, I’d have to take…gloves.

Tagged: , , , , , , ,

§ 17 Responses to winter knocks and enters…

  • mandy says:

    Here in Ohio, winter didn’t even knock. It just came barging right on in through the door. It was in the 60’s yesterday. Today, I woke up to snow accumulating on the lawn and cars.

    I’d take the gloves too!

  • shoreacres says:

    …and then one day, the lowly little pinecone got flat tired of blue and green, and country living too, when you get right down to it. She picked herself up and went to New York, figuring a place that had big apples hanging on trees probably could stand a tree-born pine cone hanging around.

    She was a little prickly, but cute. She found herself an agent, a make-up artist and a better shade of lipstick, and the next thing anyone knew, little Miss Pinecone had transformed herself into Ms. SnowCone – a classy city gal, who always wore gloves!

    • oh says:

      Hi, Mandy, ah, so you are having a snowy holiday already! lovely. I guess we’re in some kind of slightly temperate loop here, tho’ we usually get Denver’s weather a day later…No hurry on the snow, though because there’s still a bit of outdoor decorating to do! Hugs to you and yours!

      Shore- LOL! your reply is a neat little surprise – love your piece and with the picture, could make a funky little holiday card, non?

  • Arti says:

    That is of course if you’re wearing knitted type of mitts. But you could try leather or suede, but then, you’d still have the problem of staining your mitt red. Anyway, this is a vivid description of one of the hazards of winter, which we know just too well. Join the fun, we’re all bracing for the season here…

  • Carrie says:

    Love it… because it is so true! Only a lady would know….

    • oh says:

      Arti – Didn’t even think of leather or suede – but of course! and really I prefer mittens cuz they’re warmer (just a lot clumsier). I know you’re in the thick of snow time – I get reports from our Calgary office. Funny how I relate the holidays with snow. We lived in Florida for two years and loved it there but the holiday was…different with all that sun and warmth and green grass!!!

      Hi, Carrie – thanks for dropping by. I gotta say I didn’t always lipstick but these days, it’s the quickest way to add color before running out the door to work! (yeah, I could get up earlier…but…nah.)

  • litlove says:

    Gloss lipstick and high winds don’t go together either, or at least not with shoulder-length hair. Put mittens in the mix and I can see it would be disastrous! 🙂

    We have lots and lots of snow in England, only not in my corner of it. Here. there’s just enough to make the pavements slippy. My son is most outraged – every other schoolchild seems to be on holiday but him!

  • jeanie says:

    Hand and body cream and chapstick — my two winter essentials. I know what you mean about the lipstick/mittens (you can always color up after you’ve arrived and the mitts are off!)

    It’s really cold here — we head to Vegas (slightly warmer) and Flagstaff (slightly colder) next week. I don’t know how to pack!

    • oh says:

      LitLove- You’re right! Lip gloss, with its wow factor, also has that outrageous sticky element! As for the snow, I can only imagine your son’s disgust at NOT having any. The early snows are so magical (unlike snow in March when you’re sick of it) and always carry the power to maybe, just maybe, cause a school closing. I hope you get some soon, you know, as the treat it can be. (and not at rush hour, either!)

      Jeanie – True enough! I can apply color once at my desk (I must think to do that but am usually sabotaged on the way to my office and swept up in some project drama!) I do have a lovely handcream in my desk drawer, though, and have already been dipping into it. Oh, boy – winter.
      And you! Vegas? Lovely. Warm. Dry. Lovely. Hope you have a rocking time and that we hear all about it – with pictures, too!

      Hugs to all!

  • Sue Z says:

    What a great photo and I can’t wait for snow. And, yes, so true about the lipstick! I’ve had lipstick issues with gloves, too, and also when turning up my coat collar and brushing my mouth against it and with my scarf, when raising it to keep my chin from freezing. Still, I will never give up lipstick — even when I’m 80. I love lipstick!

  • qugrainne says:

    Oh! I am giving myself a holiday treat and visiting all my blogland friends. What a treat it is, too!
    You have snow now, don’t you? We got our first last night. Such a lovely sight to wake up to.
    Never thought about lipstick and mittens. Maybe because I wear the kind that gets a coat of shellac on it so it stays all day… I don’t think it is sticky then. And I would always choose mittens over gloves because otherwise my fingers freeze.
    Your Tday holiday looked homey and warm and wonderful. Happy Holidays to you and yours! And good-oh on the writing!! Cheers.

    • oh says:

      Type – Me, too – love lipstick and have a mini-collection. And oh, yes, the collar thing! I’d forgotten about that, and must be wary since we are now into the 30s. Snowless, bug frigid. Drat. If it’s going to be cold, might as well have snow. ANd if snow, enough to keep us at home!

      Q – Between Baby T and your writing (right? you are, right?), I know you’re busy but so great to hear from you and know you’re there. Happy holidays to you and yours!

  • ds says:

    Works the same with chapstick…bother. Thanks for the smiles. I love the photos. Nothing “wintry” here. Yet…

  • aubrey says:

    I couldn’t choose! I wear matte lipstick, meant to stay on…if little unfortunate threads find their way to my #305B ultra dark lipstick, I’d just add another layer or two. I’d be doing that later in the day anyway.

  • beautiful photos, winter has engulfed us early this year. I like your advice about mittens and lipstick. i never wear lipstick as such but i do wear lipbalm, specially in winter as my lips chap quite easily in the cold. I’ve never had too much of a problem with the mittens vs lipbalm, and I always wear gloves in the winter

    • oh says:

      DS – how ’bout now? winter cold yet? egads the temperature dropped the other day, radically and I fear it won’t find it’s way back “up” ’til April… forget the lipstick and the mittens – I may just stay indoors!

      Aubrey- intrigued by your lipstick number! brand? and you’re right, apply several times as the day rolls along and all’s good!

      CGP – looks like I’d better chase down some trueblue highly effective balm myself! the air has gone completely dry. and everything is full of static – AND is looking beautiful with all the holiday decor!

  • Kathleen says:

    I’d take the gloves too. I’m lucky enough to live in California where it never gets very cold. I do enjoy visiting the snow though!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading winter knocks and enters… at This Writing Life ....

meta

