Just one snowflake on Fifth…

December 22, 2010 § 14 Comments

Tagged: , , , ,

§ 14 Responses to Just one snowflake on Fifth…

  • shoreacres says:

    Oh, lookie there! Isn’t that the Presbyterian church at 55th and 5th? I believe it is. My goodness, I want to go to New York! There’s nothing better than Christmas in the City, whether there’s one snowflake or a gazillion!

    I love this photo!

    • oh says:

      Dear Shore – Sharp eyed and well traveled you are, you are! Yes, that’s the Prebysterian Church just at 55th and 5th!!!!! In about five minutes, the streets will be so mobbed that to get even this picture will be nearly impossible. Yup, elbow to elbow, but friendly. I can’t say when I’ve seen a friendlier NYC. It was awesome. Maybe it was the Christmas spirit – maybe it’s NYC all the time now. I dunno. But it’s wonderful magical. Yes, Christmas in the City still rings true.
      And yet it was good to come home to STL.

  • Ruth says:

    One snowflake in a busy scene is very special. I am mesmerized by these snowflakes falling on the page.

    Merry, merry Christmas to you, Oh!

    • oh says:

      Ruth – Hope you’re having a lovely Christmas. Bet the farm looks gorgeous – how could it not? And wonder what poetry you’re up to? I should cruise over there right now. (Will anyone notice? The house is full and grabbing blog time is a luxury…will treat myself asap!)

      BTW, WordPress gave us the option to add the snowflakes!

  • Arti says:

    Yes, I’m sure Christmas in the Big Apple can be as magical as any winter wonderland. Have a wonderful Christmas, oh!

  • Bellezza says:

    So beautiful in its start simplicity. Merry Christmas to you, and blessings on your 2011!

    • oh says:

      Arti – Oh, it’s a cold and wintry blast that has settled on STL right now. We dream of warm warm coats, and wear them when we’re awake and outside – who would have thought? Add gloves and hats to the coat mix – it’s too blasted cold to go wihtou?!

      Bellezza- Merry Christmas! Big holiday hugs and wishes to you, too! Will get back on track in a day or two and stop by.

  • typehype says:

    A very Merry Christmas to you and yours!

  • oh says:

    Dear T,
    I wanted to contact you while in NYC for a few days but we flew in last minute; HM had business and was full tilt busy. Then corporate dinners went four hrs nightly, with wives – no kidding! Next time, I’ll write in advance and see if we can rendez-vous for lunch, if not at least coffee!

    • typehype says:

      You were really here in NYC?! I don’t know why, but I thought you’d posted a picture from an earlier visit. Wasn’t the city great this year? I work right near that snowflake (on 5th bt. 57th and 58th). Yes, next time, definitely, please get in touch. A Happy and Healthy New Year to you all 🙂

  • Jeannine says:

    Happy Christmas oh! Great pic, I’d love an icy Christmas, and one in New York would be even better.
    Sitting on a beach surrounded by gently roasting flesh (and I don’t mean turkeys) just ain’t the same!

    • oh says:

      If you are ever headed in NYC’s direction, you have to let us know!!!!
      As for being on the beach, it has to be magical in its way. The sun is out today for the first time in days but I will cover myself from head to toe before running out there – it’s below freezing and everything has a crisp edge to it!

  • Kathleen says:

    Beautiful picture. I guess that same picture taken today would have loads of snow in it!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Just one snowflake on Fifth… at This Writing Life ....

meta

