what’s cookin’?

December 30, 2010 § 14 Comments

(I meant to photograph the onion casserole but had it  popped in the oven before I could find my camera. Anyway, this was the cook’s playground this afternoon, with a SPIRIT OF CHRISTMAS book open to the onion page and the Martha’s Dec issue also open to some impossible recipe. I believe it was Bella Rum who warned me about Martha’s complicado recipes and she was correct!!!!)

The kitchen smelled like armpits.
It couldn’t be helped.
It was the onions that I had to slice, thinly.
The recipe called for 16 of ’em (2 red, 2 white and 12 green ones).
And two kinds of cheese, a ton of each, bleu and havarti.
And dry white wine.
Pepper.
And precious butter.

Bake for an hour.
About half way into bake time, mmmm, the scent started to turn  around and there was the onions and butter and the wine, all showing off their best aromas.

And then there was the pea soup, just coming to burble in its pot, into which a very small amount of onions and a lovely two handsful of tiny chopped bits of carrots and yes, my precious butter, and the hambone from the Xmas honey ham had been ceremoniously dumped. Lid plopped on top. Lovely.

Now this was a kitchen.
And people started drifting in, to see what was going on.
Give a girl a vacation and look what she’ll do.

(FYI: the onion casserole came out lovely, with everyone digging in for a taste and swearing they’d wait ’til formal dinnertime to have more with their burgers. And they did. Meanwhile, the soup went along slowly, thickening and sweetening. It will be lovely tomorrow with cornbread.)

BOOK RECOMMENDATION:
Haven’t got one in particular. Still plowing through nearly a dozen New Yorker magazines to catch up. And while it has nothing to do whatsoever with cooking, I am enjoying, to the point of laughing out loud, Bill Bryson’s A WALK IN THE WOODS. It’s my first Bryson. Yeah, I’m a Bryson virgin and just tickled to pieces with his writing. Especially since it’s about my beloved East Coast moutains. And I’m inspired to tackle something challenging, inspired by Bryson. Hmmmm….off  I go to ponder my personal challenge. Seems to go with the New Year.

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

§ 14 Responses to what’s cookin’?

  • litlove says:

    Bill Bryson is soooooo funny. He has such a turn of phrase. Your cooking sounds delcious, oh, and I’m very impressed. I’ve been lazy this holiday and not made anything new or special – you are an inspiration!

  • Bella Rum says:

    That onion casserole sounds delicious. We love that kind of thing. Yes, Martha is fun to look at but her recipes are a bit much. I like to imagine myself doing Martha things but I never actually get it together.

    The photo of your kitchen counter is great. The pears are pretty. Now I want one. Lots of fiber there.

    Bella

    • oh says:

      LL – The key to cooking, for me, is being on holiday, that is, no schedule!!!! It’s great to actually USE some of the stuff in our fridge and cupboards! I’m going to try some chocolate dipped pretzels next…sounds easy, non?

      Bella – Ah, the pears! Part of my Xmas present. I adore them, too, and would gladly share. The thing with pears is that they all ripen at the same time! So, there will be pears with dinner, breakfast and lunch for the next two days ’til the luscious things are gone. And then I’ll look forward to fresh ones again next Xmas.

      As for Martha, I have relegated her magazine to one of the Xmas boxes and will look at her again next year. Pooh, 18 ingredients and 3 hours of cook time, indeed!

      Happy New Year!

  • seachanges says:

    Love your picture as usual! You make me want to get up and do some cooking too, but I’m too lazy today. Still recuperating from my flu, Have a wonderful 2011 and may all your dreams come true, including all your writing ambitions!

    • oh says:

      Dear Sea – so glad you’re feeling better. Yes, the flu has made it’s rounds here as well, in the guise of a terrific messy sinus thing. Amazing what a few days of absolute rest and reading will do, n’est-ce pas?
      Hope you’ve enjoyed a merry holiday nonetheless and wishing you a Happy New Year as well!

  • mandy says:

    The aroma’s that waft from my Grandma’s kitchen or my mom’s kitchen are always amazing. They are intertwined with some of my favorite memories.

    Have a wonderful 2011!

  • Arti says:

    Trust your holidays have been delicious! Have a Happy New Year you and yours, oh!

    • oh says:

      Mandy – Big hugs to you and yours and hope to see you again this year…meeting where? Maybe we can get you all to the Midwest? I’ll cook and be quiet and you and Becky and Nor and others can enjoy! Happy New Year!

      Arti – Always glad to hear from you. Look forward to more book-and-movie talk in 2011! Happy Happy New Year!

  • Kathleen says:

    All I can say is YUMMY! And Happy New Year too!

  • jeanie says:

    Sixteen onions? You SO get me where I live! Was that from the Martha? I have that magazine, too. Love it. But some of the recipes… Go for the Everyday Food ones — they are almost no-fail and tons easier. And just as good. If that recipe is online, will you share it? Or email it to me? I would adore that (though the WW leader would probably croak at all the cheese… )

    Your kitchen sounds just perfect. Good smells, chopping and baking, people in and out and that wonderful black and white pitcher on the counter. Oh, yes, I would so like to be there!

  • oh says:

    Dear J – Yes, I’ll email the recipe to you for the onion thing!

    And it looks like we should arrange a bloggie rendez-vous this year, yes? Wonder if June might be a good month?

  • Jeannine says:

    I covet that little black and white checked jug – it’s beyond fab!
    I love Bill Bryson. You’re lucky to just be starting. There’s nothing nicer than stumbling onto a great read, and then finding that the writer has a back list of treats in store for you. . .

  • oh says:

    Jeannine – How true about “discovering” an author who has done several works!
    Now, how exactly do we win more reading time? (still un-decorating from Xmas!)

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading what’s cookin’? at This Writing Life ....

meta

