Bryson synchronicity…

January 11, 2011 § 9 Comments

Touring books and Mobot…(the Missouri Botanical Garden)

I’m halfway through Bryson’s A WALK IN THE WOODS. I have laughed, chuckled and smiled while reading. And learned stuff. It’s all about the Appalachian Trail. You know that.

This past weekend, HM and I got to the Missouri Botanical Garden, yes, in this wintry weather, to see the indoor train exhibition that they do every holiday season. And this year, it was themed: The Appalacian Trail
Really?
I couldn’t believe it. Here I was, reading Bryson’s book about that very thing and walk into holiday-train-land and there it was, right in front of me, fantasized, of course, and idealized, but  you have to love how the universe works sometimes. (more than sometimes, actually, but you get my drift).

And now, I am dropping in pictures I took of Mobot’s Gardenland Express, hoping that they are in some way cute, entertaining, informative (?) or festive so you can enjoy a little “walk on the Trail” yourself …

I “hike” no more than maybe a half mile a day, down corridor halls and through a semi-vast parking lot and around the block with the dogs when the weather allows. Yet part of me says I could do this trail, in stages of course.  One of my best writer friends has global wanderlust. She and her hubs disappear for two and three months at a time and we get postcards from  foreign mountaintops. I am not particularly provincial, and yet I  have more of a yen to see the States than the states of the world. I leave that to certain politicians and my writer friend.

…and while the trail passes through far more miles of heavy woods, though many have been stripped of birds and trees species, than it does towns or villages, Mobot’s “spin” on the theme is endearing and charming.

The scale is good though the plants aren’t quite…right…but how clever they made it, how compelling…

OK, no, haven’t read anything in Bryson yet that talks about encoutering a railroad on the trail …still, one can edit and annotate at will for entertainment value, non?

And, tho’ they don’t show, the plants throughout the display are labeled. HM and I are at a point where we find this very intriguing…and important…yes, and creative. Will we be someday-gardeners? probably. Will we hike the Trail? sure. Some trail. Maybe at Babler State Park. Maybe in the Ozarks. Yeah, and maybe a piece of  the AT, somewhere in the Carolinas.

So, not exactly a walk in the woods, but a walk nonetheless. Nearly makes me want to get into the miniature business.

Tagged: , , , , , , , ,

§ 9 Responses to Bryson synchronicity…

  • shoreacres says:

    I keep forgetting to bring you this little treasure, but you mentioned gardening and it stirred my memory. There is a woman who lives in St. Louis who maintains a gardening page on Weather Underground. She’s in the business, smart and experienced and makes some of the prettiest gardens around.

    Especially since you’re in the same area, her tips would be especially relevant for you.
    Each month she has a “to-do” list, too. Very helpful. Being in a completely different zone I have to adapt, but there’s still lots to learn.

    I love your photos – there is something about miniatures that captures the imagination, isn’t there?
    And now you have me playing Copeland’s Appalachian Spring. Wonderful!

  • Bella Rum says:

    I have a friend who volunteered with a group that maintains the trail here in Virginia. She enjoys hiking and photography – very compatible pursuits. It’s a beautiful trail and isn’t it wonderful that we have it?

    I can’t imagine walking the entire trail. What an accomplishment that would be.

    I enjoyed your photos. We live near a botanical garden that creates a train display every year during the holiday season, too. So creative.

  • Care says:

    Lovely. I enjoy hiking but can always find an excuse to not walk the trails near my house: too muddy, it’s deer season (wear orange?!), too hot, too cold, blahblahblah. Is this near StLouis? I recall a Botanical Garden between KCMo and Truman Resv which was just lovely and I enjoyed stopping there often when I lived in those parts.

  • Kathleen says:

    This looks like such a cool display. I’m not much of a hiker except for when I go camping but I’ve sure seen some pretty scenery when I have gone hiking!

  • julietwilson says:

    what a lovely train trail! Such amazing detail!

    Juliet
    Crafty Green Poet
    http://craftygreenpoet.blogspot.com

  • Carrie says:

    Quite serendipitous indeed.

    I’ve been more of a west-coast hiker myself. The hubs and I planned (like actually did the leg work) on taking 6 months to hike the PCT (from mexico to canada). But then we decided to take our savings and buy a building. Dumb. But alas – hindsight is 20/20.

    I’ll now have to read some other hiker’s memoirs.

  • anno says:

    Oh, this is charming! I love the hay bales in the barn window, all the details that make the trail come to life. Nice, though, to be able to take it in during a weekend afternoon, and to follow it up (I hope) with hot drinks and good reading. Although I once might have dreamed of hiking great trails, these days the miniature fashion seems much more appealing.

  • jeanie says:

    This is simply enchanting. I know Rick has that Bryson book. One of these days (as I work my way through the stack) I will need to give it a borrow — what a great recommendation!

    Don’t you love little villages like this? I do! Lucky you to see it!

  • typehype says:

    Oh, I just love this display. The mini hay bales and tiny pickup truck and the teensy firefighter are so cute! It reminds me of the train set I had as a kid.

    I loved the Bryson book, too. He’s so droll. He cracks me up.

    It’s true, the Appalachian trail is do-able in increments. Years back, I hiked some of the trails upstate and camped out, not far from the Harriman State Park area, I think it was, give or take. Fun. I’m too chicken to do that now. I’m terrified of bears.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Bryson synchronicity… at This Writing Life ....

meta

