Valentine’s Day…still

February 14, 2011 § 6 Comments

HAPPY VALENTINE’S DAY!

A lovely card from our family in Brooklyn…

These are plates, not candy! Fun, albeit useful only for a very few days a year! (including taking a picture of them for one’s blog!)

And this Valentine surprise from Jeanie, who also gets to sell her cool and lovely creations to various shops! Bravo!

BOOK RECOMMENDATION:

MY DEAREST FRIENDS, LETTERS OF JOHN AND ABIGAIL ADAMS … So absolutely suited to Valentine’s Day,and any day really. This is a wonderful book, not necessarily to be read all at once.It’s OK; it merits dallying in the language and the emotion of it.  Admire. Get a grasp of letter writing…at its best!

The following about the book is directly quoted from the New York Times, (2007):

“He was her “Lysander,” after the Spartan hero. She was his “Diana,” after the Roman goddess of the moon. She called him “My Dearest Friend.” He called her “Miss Adorable” and his “Heroine,” who sustained “with so much Fortitude, the Shocks and Terrors of the Times.”
He, of course, was John Adams, the brilliant, charming, often irascible Revolutionary patriot who became the second president of the United States. She was Abigail, his spirited, stoic and equally brilliant wife. The two were not just what one television dramatization of their lives all too glibly termed “America’s first power couple” at a time when most women were accorded little power or influence. They were also uncommonly well-matched partners who shared a passionate dedication to the Revolutionary cause, as well as a love of books and history, a playful sense of humor, a voluble literary gift and deep and abiding affection for each other.”

Get it. Read it. Keep it on the nightstand, or the coffee table, but no, it’s not a coffee table book. It’s meant to be read and enjoyed. What’s so special about this one?  “Reading” a President and his First Lady, a public celebrated couple  who had an abiding relationship in which they invested time, and writing.

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

§ 6 Responses to Valentine’s Day…still

  • litlove says:

    Happy Valentine’s Day to you, dear Oh! Those are very beautiful Valentine’s artifacts (difficult to find a word that covers them all!). I hope you got your share of red roses yesterday!

  • lovely selection of Valentines goodies! Thanks for commenting on my blog too and feel free to link to any of my posts…

  • shoreacres says:

    What? I think I’ve successfully made it through another Valentine’s Day, and I find – more Valentine’s Day????

    I do love that card from Brooklyn. One of my treasures is a set of three frilly, turn-of-the-century valentines that were my grandmother’s. I had them framed for Mom maybe three years ago, and every year, about a week before the day I remember I was going to do a post about them. Maybe next year!

  • mandy says:

    Hope you had a great Valentines Day.

    I read My Dearest Friend a few years ago, absolutely loved it.

  • jeanie says:

    Alas, I don’t think anyone would ever call me Miss Adorable. Pity. It sounds like a lovely book. Maybe next year’s Valentine’s gift to someone I know and from whom I’d be delighted to hear Miss Adorable anytime!

  • Care says:

    Happy spirit-of-Valentines Day! I want that book letter between the Adams’! I feel a lovely exclam-laden day ahead for me… SMILES!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Valentine’s Day…still at This Writing Life ....

meta

