This is Saturday…

February 19, 2011 § 15 Comments

It’s Saturday. No (immediate) deadlines. Finished one yesterday for SAUCE.
No schedule, no requirements, no trying to fit round pegs into square holes.

Except on the paper, in this new journal. That my cousin Sam sent at Xmas. She was so excited to have found it and sent it to me. I am so glad to have it.

New pens, 6 different colors.
Dogs are sleeping. HM has his own projects. Kids are a) at university and b) the other is visiting boyfriend.

The light in the house shifts according to the sun and the clouds. The leaves on the lawn, left from Fall’s last drop, will lie there, morphing into mulch.

Later I will treat myself to reading everyone on my blog list.

Now, to begin on that first page.

Tagged: , , , , , , , ,

§ 15 Responses to This is Saturday…

  • shoreacres says:

    Beautiful journal, and it seems a delightful day lies in store for you. I love those self-mulching leaves!

    For me, a good laugh. Really. It’s the line across the top of your journal – “Imagination is a license to fly”. Indeed it is, in every sort of way, including the most concrete.

    I’m putting those words on the bottom of my monitor, and letting a friend provide the song of the day. 😉

  • foxlily says:

    Lovely journal. Aren’t new pens the best? Especially in different colors. Happy writing!

  • Mary Lupin says:

    Oh such a wonderful day. Sun and cool air, good coffee, a new book, and quiet. My notebook isn’t nearly as wonderful as yours but those clean white pages still feel like open doorways into wonder.

    • oh says:

      Dear Shore – Love Frankie – pure classic and always in the mood for his singing – how very cool that you dropped him in here and my cousin read your comment and loved it, too!

      Foxlily – Who knew it was so much fun to have different color pens – when I thought they were just for kids to use in school when bored listening to lessons – it changes my text – and maybe puts more “fun” in my writing – and who couldn’t use more fun?

      Hi, Mary – you say it perfectly: “…those clean white pages still feel like open doorways into wonder.”
      Exactly!

  • i love to write in journals but only do so when i travel. i have ones dating back to my teen years and pulling them out for a read is always a trip! the journal from your cousin sent is so nice–brand new pages are such a good feeling! enjoy it. 🙂

  • qugrainne says:

    Lovely journal! What a treat.
    I’ve been thinking about burning my old journals….. can’t stand the thought of someone else READING them!
    I missed something somewhere (no surprise) – SAUCE?
    Sounds like you had a lovely day sketched out. And now it is already Monday evening. Time flies, and all that. And I am amazed you can even see leaves, with the snow that has been flying everywhere.
    And as far as coffee in a previous post; why not drink decaf? I REALLY lowered my heart rate when I switched. It’s all about the flavor and the ritual, after all, especially the ritual.

  • typehype says:

    I hope you thoroughly enjoyed your “alone” day. It’s so needed, time to be with yourself. No agendas, no responsibilities — yet, lucky that those you love will return later in the day or the next.

    • oh says:

      Nat – what is it about travel that brings out the journal writing? The freedom, maybe, I don’t know, but hope you have the op to hit the road or the air and go somewhere. Whew – what a long winter this is!

      Q- Thank you! Funny how a certain comment can pop up and change things for someone. It was your decaff recommendation so I am now doing the decaff thing – it’s fine, it’s great. So glad you mentioned it!

      T – Ah, it was a good few hours of sitting and staring and writing a bit (not brilliant) and also, did a lot of little things wouldn’t normally get to (dusting, cleaning windows of “smudges” where dogs look out) and so it was grand. And you – how’s the art going? Spring is just around the corner. I’m sure it be awesome in strict contrast with all the dirty rimmed snow we now have to look at.

      • typehype says:

        Art is going SO well. I shouldn’t be jinxing it by saying so (but it is, so thanks for asking). There’s hardly a better feeling than when your personal work is going well, is there? Plus, it helps counteract the M-F, 9-5 in-your-cubicle-meltdowns, when, if only you had a can of Pepper Spray…

  • Care says:

    GREAT book, lovely quote, such inspiration! SMILES

  • Damyanti says:

    Hope you got a lot of writing done 🙂

  • aubrey says:

    Such a lovely journel, covered in rich color and Matisse-like patterns; you are sure to be inspired before you even open its covers – before you even pick up one of those new pens!

    • oh says:

      Hi, Care – thanks and yeah, I’m carrying it around with me, you know, just in case something pops up to write down!

      Dear D – I did write a lot, nothing special but wonderful exercise nonetheless. Sometimes, that’s the point, I guess!

      Aubrey – I ended up using a black pen – seemed to work best on the paper in the journal. Seems like it would be nice to sketch in this one, but there’s another thing to master. IN the meantime, I’m caught up in zentangles – basically zen-like doodling, but excellent timeouts.

  • jeanie says:

    Oh, the journal is beautiful — all that and new pens. Sounds like my kind of Saturday! (What’s a SAUCE?)

    There is nothing like “home alone” time — I’m looking forward to some over the next few days. One always hates to say — it’s nothing personal, but oh so divine!

    • oh says:

      Dear Jeanie – ‘there’s nothing quite like an unplanned Saturday, right? Lovely to escape schedules. oh, and SAUCE is a local STL magazine about Food! Yeah, I write about people who are heavily involved with food: chefs, instructors, cafe owners, caffe artistes, fresh market provisioners, etc. Fun! Eye opening. People are so cool.

      And you are so right, some time alone can be divine. And then, there we are, ready to be surrounded by family and friends.

      PS I’m looking for mhy book that has the onion recipe in it. Looks like it got packed with the Xmas stuff (it was in a Xmas book) but I perservere!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading This is Saturday… at This Writing Life ....

meta

