Full moon, getting its freak on

February 24, 2011 § 9 Comments

I know the full moon occurred sometime last week for its usual amount of hours. However, I believe there is some conspiracy afoot (incurred by Mother Nature, of course) that involves an extension of the full moon.
I’m saying that, according to all the quirks, faux pas, mistakes, twists, dips and downright “what the heck?s” that happened this week, the full moon is ongoing. I dont’ know how it looks like it’s no longer full – perhaps the power of Wikileaks or sci-fi writers banded together or some secret group engaged in adjusting the light reflected from the moon so that it no longer looks full, just to trick us,  but I’m telling ya, it’s been a rockin’ ridiculous, rioutous week that has included everything from lost project files, to frozen PCs to misplaced money to a million individual moments of quiet head-shaking – and it’s been totally full moon-able.

Thank goodness for the peace of writing with a pen, the reading of a thick good book and the moments to stare off, thinking about a particular line just read and for the rituals of  returning to home life after work.

And thank goodness for stepping outside an hour past twilight with the dogs and all three of us looking into the parklike area where all the backyards meet and seeing seven deer, all lying there, unfettered, unconcerned,  just bathing in the moonlight.
Freaky. Unexpected. Beautiful.

If the full moon is going to go long, then fine, let all the nonsense occur as long as we can have those deer right there, nearly invisible, among us.

OK, and I might have to do a little howling, but that just goes with  moon territory.

WRITING LESSON:
Write what’s on your mind and push and pull and twist it (like taffy) so someone else might want to read it. Just go. There is no writing “in the box.”  Crawl out of there and write, write, write. If you go long enough, there will be something in there, in your writing: something good, something lesson-able, something that makes you say “oh.”  And just for that, it’s good enough, it’s wonderful.

BOOK RECOMMENDATION:
Women Who Run with the Wolves: Myths and Stories of the Wild Woman Archetype (1992), by Clarissa Pinkola Estes. It was on the NY Times bestseller list for 145 weeks. Impressive.
But no, I haven’t read it yet. Yes,  it’s been on my shelf for at least nine years.
How can I recommend it? I don’t know. It just seems like a good time to open it up. 
And wait for that (I know it’s not really full) moon to go away.

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , ,

§ 9 Responses to Full moon, getting its freak on

  • Love your full moon howl and your writing lesson/suggestion is perfect. Thanks for this. I’m inspired for tomorrow’s writing…If you hear another howl off in the distance – that’s me.

  • Mary Lupin says:

    Have you ever stared so long at the moon you felt sucked right up into it? And then felt the clear green weight of your olivine bones, the plasticity of your surface, the still humming echo of your last rebound from the snap that tore you and that blue monster apart? I’ve always wondered what a mind born of a planet’s body and experience would be like. And we call it a moon! How diminished our imaginations by reducing such a glistening crystal to a satellite!
    The moon appears full three nights a month and see what it does!

  • anno says:

    Sounds like a week for wild howling! Love the image of the deer bathing in the moonlight — one good thing about having a dog is the way they get us out of our comfort zone and into some wilder elements. Great pictures, too… I especially like the one of the moon emerging (sinking?) from behind the mountains. Might have to give that writing exercise of yours a try. Wishing you a wild weekend!

  • ds says:

    Love love your deer image. Book suggestion noted; writing lesson will be given more tries.
    Thanks for visiting the other day. It is good to know that you are still here! Rock (or howl) on!

  • typehype says:

    Oh, you perfectly conveyed the feeling of strolling outside in that peaceful time after twilight under the light of a full moon. I was right there. Beautiful.

    (since I’m an astrologer and a tad compulsive…I confirm that, yes, the full moon occurred on Feb. 19, at 29 degrees Aquarius, which is meaningful for those born in the 3rd decanate of Aquarius, like me.)

  • So maybe the full moon caused my hellacious trip home? And maybe it accounts for the total funk I feel now that I am back! I miss Paris! And I need to come back to StL so we can talk all about it!! 🙂

  • jeanie says:

    I’ve had that book for a good nine years, too. Maybe more — I don’t know. In fact, now that you mention it, I’m not sure I still even have it… did it go in the resale pile?

    It’s been a full-moon week around here, too, and I relish the peace and quiet of a weekend. If it’s busy, it’s MY busy, and that’s good enough for me!

  • shoreacres says:

    Lucky you, to be able to see the full moon! Too much cloud and fog here, although there were little peeks. Time is passing, and hence the heavenly bodies – I no longer can see the moon setting from my bed, or be wakened by its light mid-night. Still, it’s there, comforting.

    And the creatures – often there, unseen. A friend is Kansas thought all his wild rabbits had succumbed to winter’s ravages, until another snow came, and there tracks were everywhere. We need the moonlight, to help us see the tracks 😉

  • Bella Rum says:

    I love your theory about the full moon. I never thought of blaming all of our recent mishaps on the moon, but I had a friend who was an assistant principal of a middle school for many years. She swore that the full moon caused middle school boys to go a little crazy.

    Your description of the deer at dusk is beautiful – such an unexpected gift.
    Bella

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Full moon, getting its freak on at This Writing Life ....

meta

