Wednesday floralicious…

March 30, 2011 § 9 Comments

Up so early this a.m. to get work done at work  that I am NOT, at this hour, as fresh as a flower at the moment.

Watched actress Ellen Page talk heatedly about the “honeybee” situation on Jon Stewart the other night. 

Finished reading The Book of Salt and found it fragrant with poetry in the prose.

Felt like a wallflower at Morgan Le Fay’s bistro the other night where HM’s band was playing ’til my friends showed up. Not easy being a “groupie,” that is, the bassist’s wife.

Wore some perfume today, just a whiff of it (Carolina Herrera), that has undertones of orchid.

Trying to plant  seeds of an idea (on paper)  for a story that needs writing.

I whisked through my closet to clean out the sweaters and scarves but left a floral favorite ($3 from H&M!) on the shelf in case of a chilly Spring evening.

So you’ve figured out by now that I have to keep this short and wanted to drop some flowers and “flowery language” on you before returning to my (work) desk.

(these pics were snapped at the Missouri Botanical Garden during the Orchid Show; went two weeks ago.)

Tagged: , , , , , , , , ,

§ 9 Responses to Wednesday floralicious…

  • shoreacres says:

    Such beautiful flowers! My present joy is a single amaryllis that’s decided to bloom – two large trumpets, candy-cane striped.

    The bluejays – yes, they get shelled grocery store pecans. Soft touch, here. They also like raw peanuts in the shell and shelled raw peanuts. I don’t free-feed them because it would cost a fortune. When you see one around, put out a few pecan halves. Once they know they’re available, they’ll often start calling for them. Oh – and I whistle when I put them out. If I hear a bluejay, I grab a couple, go out and put them on the railing and whistle. Bingo! Instant bluejay!

    • oh says:

      I am going to try the pecan thing. And thanks also for the tip on “whistling.” As I read about crows, and jays are cousin to the crows, there are many mentions to how crows and humans interact, observe one another and imitate certain things. I look forward to the whistle call – hope they’ll pose, too, in midst-pecan-eating!

  • ds says:

    Gorgeous orchids. Not a whiff of flower here, yet (snow has been proclaimed, the sweaters remain). Hope the seeds sprout into something strong and good.

    • oh says:

      Dear DS, Hurry and come over now. the sun is out; the thermometer is stretching itself toward 60 and beyond! You can sit outside and read. I will quietly rake (cuz the batter of winter force is really showing around here!)

  • jeanie says:

    Bravo on the flowery language AND the gorgeous flower photos — sounds like the place to be if you have a camera.

    Also sounds like you’ve been having fun. Had no idea HM was a bassist — that’s very cool! And smart you — cleaning out your closet. I don’t think I’ll ever get winter out of mine!

    • oh says:

      Jeanie- Well, now that I’ve “cleaned” the closet, there is very little left. I think I’ll just deal with it for now, having pledged myself to phase 2 of my diet. (sigh)

      As for my camera, whew, I have left it much too long on the table. Outdoors we go!

      Can’t wait to see you in June…and will be blog visiting later this evening to get caught up!

  • typehype says:

    You are not a groupie. You are a muse.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Wednesday floralicious… at This Writing Life ....

meta

