Come sigh with me…

April 3, 2011 § 15 Comments

I am twirling in my seat, as one of my writer friends calls it, that is, I am procrastinating like crazy. I have a deadline to meet tomorrow. An article to write. Ah, well. I will, I will!

But today we walked around the Botanical Garden today, you know, getting “centered” and raking in the aromatherapy aspects – the hyacinth was so heady when I got down in it to take its picture…we could smell the ducks on the pond (really!) and then there was an alley of all those waxy looking yet fragile magnolias that were like so many bottles of (expensive) perfume let loose into the fresh air! 

Egads. Such headiness – who can sit still to write?

Wait, are those magnolias? I’m not sure. I think yes.

Tagged: , , , , ,

§ 15 Responses to Come sigh with me…

  • Bellezza says:

    ‘twirling in my seat’…love that phrase! I’ll be doing that tomorrow, along with my twenty-six eight year olds; none of us prepared to re-enter school in the traditional sense. When Spring comes, the classroom is far too confining.

  • Damyanti says:

    Oh man, oh man. I want to be inside those pictures with those flowers. Lucky you.

  • Becky says:

    Oooh, beautiful pictures!

  • Bella Rum says:

    Oh, what beautiful photos. Lovely.

    It smells like spring here and even looks like spring, but I walked in 30 degree temps yesterday morning. Ear warmers, gloves and several layers were required. I fear spring will never come, but we will jump straight into the nineties and soaking humidity.

    Good luck with your deadline.
    Bella

    I’m going back to have another look at those photos.

  • Jade says:

    Oh WoW! These are amazingly good! The second one is too cute. And your written descriptions are so rich & easy to imagine…

  • shoreacres says:

    I learned recently that ducks that “do that” are called “dabblers”. It gives a whole new meaning to, for example, the phrase “She dabbled in art”!

    Beautiful photos. Do you know if those are magnolias? They’re quite different from ours, but I know there are lots of varieties.

  • Arti says:

    “procrastinating like crazy”? Looking at your photos, it’d be crazy not to procrastinate. As much as we need to do our work, or enjoy writing for writing’s sake, there are things that deserve our taking the time off. You’re blessed to live near such beautiful sites… “But today we walked around the Botanical Garden…” sounds so casual and common place, while for me, that will have to be a plane ride out to the BC coast. And I was still shovelling snow yesterday.

  • Andi says:

    I love duck butts . . . just sayin’.

  • mandy says:

    What beautiful photos! Its always good to step out and get “centered” isn’t it? I have a desperate need to do that myself. But the temperatures are still cold and the rain has been falling. Hopefully soon.

  • Kathleen says:

    Well if you have to procrastinate, at least you have a good excuse. The pictures are lovely and there is something about spring that makes me procrastinate about a lot of things.

  • qugrainne says:

    I am pretty sure the beautiful pink flowers are magnolias. We have another month before we will see them blossom here. They are soooooo lovely.
    And the duck butt! Too funny. Reminds me when I was little and had no voice about hair style, my mother always told the stylist, “a ducktail” please. Yikes!!
    I have been twirling in my seat for weeks now. No excuse, because the weather certainly has not been great. I have been exercising, however, so at least something is being accomplished!

  • typehype says:

    I’m losing it. When I first looked at the tail end of the duck, I thought it was a dolphin. But…blue skies and the first flowers of Spring. Is there anything as beautiful?? It seems like eons since I’ve seen both. Thanks for sharing.

  • Haven’t you heard? You weren’t procrastinating. It’s called incubating; you were unconsciously mulling and synthesizing ideas.
    As a writer, you are never ever having an unproductive moment…nope, you’re always working on a story…in spite of how it appears to the outside world.
    That’s my story and I’m sticking to it 🙂

  • aubrey says:

    I love that first picture – the colors are wildly different, but in tone they match exactly and create a perfect painting.

    And like Andi, I do love duck butts!

  • jeanie says:

    Oh, that orange and purply-blue! It does warm the heart, doesn’t it? At long last! I’ve been taking pix of duckrobatics, too! Love ’em!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Come sigh with me… at This Writing Life ....

meta

