Big doings!

May 6, 2011 § 13 Comments

 The past two weeks have been a blur of activity, deadlines (freelance) and work (Work!) and crazy weather and squeezing in some reading here and there (VERY VALENTINE) and falling asleep trying to watch Jon Stewart and also up early for the Royal wedding last week before work  and…lo and behold, our daughter Nor is now engaged as well!

Would I have ever thought that planning a wedding could be so much fun? It’s magical.  The world has turned a different color, has taken on a new shine and everyone, absolutely everyone, loves love and rings and real weddings and ideas. Including Snarl – he is quietly proud of his sister! And he has graduation on the horizon so we get to escape to U town to celebrate and party for a weekend and cheer for him. 

And so on this Friday night following a major meeting at 4:45 today at work that has left me nearly giddy with fatigue here at the kitchen table as I wait for a pizza from Trader Joe’s to bake and be enough for HM and I for dinner (the lovebirds went out to eat!), I can only smile (and also thank Jeanie who just wrote to ask if all’s well since I haven’t blogged in a fortnight) and talk sweetly to the dogs who pad around hoping for a bit of crust or something warm from the oven and …  ah, don’t you just love the weekends?

(Nor’s ring as modeled by the family’s Frog Prince statue)

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , ,

§ 13 Responses to Big doings!

  • Damyanti says:

    Wow, lots going on in your life and all of it good 🙂 Enjoy yourself….I certainly enjoyed your writing in this post!

  • Mandy says:

    I am so excited for Nor as well. Stories like hers remind me that love can come when we least expect it and that life can change in just a few months. Enjoy the wedding planning!

  • Becca says:

    YEA! What an exciting thing for your family, and the perfect way to herald the spring 🙂 Did you get some good ideas from the Royal Wedding ??? lol

    Congratulations to all!

  • jeanie says:

    Hooray, hooray, hooray! Congratulations in every way — on Nor’s engagement, on Snarl’s graduation and a nice, hopefully deadline-free evening with HM. No wonder you have been busy to the max! Hmmm. I think the mother of the bride is going to need to shop for something lovely to wear!

  • Heather says:

    Hey, I’ll take one of those Frog Princes… where can I get one? And, of course, I’m jealous you have Trader Joe’s nearby….

  • Arti says:

    My o my… what buzz and activities and celebrations!! Congrats to your daughter’s engagement and your son’s grad! What a joyous time at your household now. Thanks for sharing in this busiest of hours. My college son has just come home, and cs has now turned into cg too… he must be the same age as yours. I’m sure you’ll have a marvellous Mother’s Day. My best wishes to you still!

  • ds says:

    WOW!!! Daughter engaged (beautiful, classic ring, btw) and Son graduating. I’m surprised you haven’t burst!
    Congratulations to everyone! The grin is ear-to-ear here.
    Happy Mother’s Day–though in some ways I think you’ve already celebrated it. YIPPEE!!!!!

  • As Nor will tell you, I am also SO excited for this wedding! Eeks! It’s goign to be so fun. Can’t wait to hear what they decide on for the venue. It’s going to be such a fantastic celebration. 🙂

    Random comment – did Nor tell you I had a dream that I was at your house visiting for the weekend and we were having breakfast in your kitchen? Oh and I had a boyfriend or husband with me… Such a random dream!

  • shoreacres says:

    Look at all the goings-on! Congrats to everyone – including you, for keeping your composure enough to tell us all about it!

    I can’t wait to hear all the details – has the date been set for the wedding?

  • kerrylee says:

    Happy Mother’s Day! What a day to celebrate so much wonderful news. Congrats to Nor (and mom and dad) and congrats to Snarl, too (and mom and dad!!). I am very happy for you.
    Glad to see you back here, too. I was wondering……..
    Sent you a tweet – what time shall we meet?

    Cheers!! ❤

  • Becky says:

    Yes yes yes! Love it all!

  • Kris says:

    Congrats to your daughter! (and what a beautiful ring)

  • Bree says:

    That is one beautiful ring! So unusual but simplistic. Love it!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Big doings! at This Writing Life ....

meta

