California dreamin’?…Nope, it’s real!

July 9, 2011 § 10 Comments

The beach-mountain dichotomy. (see ’em in the background?)
The re-orientation of living with a beach in one’s backyard.
This is dusk on the Oceanwalk at Venice Beach.

I will angle to take less clicheed photos going forth.

Tagged: , , , , , , ,

§ 10 Responses to California dreamin’?…Nope, it’s real!

  • anno says:

    Gorgeous, gorgeous picture — love the layers of color, the strong silhouette. It’s not a cliche if you do it in your own way…

  • Bellezza says:

    I do not find this photograph a cliche…rather the beauty through your eyes. I love the silhouette of the trees against the mountains, which to me, is a rather unusual juxtaposition. I don’t often come across palms and rocky heights in the Midwest! Plus, you’ve got to love the name Venice Beach!

  • ds says:

    “Angle” ha ha. I don’t think your photo is a cliche either; it’s the beauty of California as it was meant to be–and the bird swooping in is a nice touch!

  • oh says:

    Anno-
    So I went back out in the bright of day to get some pictures. I’m gonna try my son’s approach: to just click away seemingly without aiming at anything. He just moves his camera around and clicks, then sorts through his pictures later. I think this might work better when I’m trying for “people” pictures.

    Bellezza– I am LOVING this weather! I keep going outside, walking around, not a lot of sitting. Oh, boy, it’s gonna catch up with me tonight. But HM is taking me out (biz dinner – yum) so maybe a bit of wine will take the edge off muscle aches (shred!)

    DS– Thanks, DS! the bird was a bonus! Good old gulls. I’ve always enjoyed the swoop and screech of those agressive fellows.

    • oh says:

      Bellezza – Just updated comment since I don’t know from where, but I wrote “BR” rather than Bellezza or just “B” as often do. Sheesh. Getting heady with this LA weather. It’s rather perfect – no humidity. Tons of fresh sea air. (just the thing for a Pisces!)

  • jeanie says:

    I like your so-called cliche photos! Don’t stop!

    • oh says:

      Thanks, J. Ever onward. I went out this a.m. for coffee and didnt’ take my camers. What? no. I just didn’t want anything hanging off me. Well, as soon as I got to the cafe, I was sorry I didn’t have it. Picture ops all over the place. Will go back out in a little while.

  • litlove says:

    Like all the other commentors, I’m all for cliches when they come out that evocative and attractive! I visited California once, years ago, for an academic conference, and liked it very much indeed. One day it would be nice to go back. Hope you are having a wonderful, wonderful time!

  • Care says:

    I see everyone is mentioning the cliche photos so I won’t.

    I think they are lovely. Have fun!

  • Becca says:

    These are beautiful and quintessential California – a land I love and where I would live if only I were rich..

    Enjoy it!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading California dreamin’?…Nope, it’s real! at This Writing Life ....

meta

