Home again…

July 24, 2011 § 14 Comments

We’ve been home a week since our sejour in Cali.
And not a single post between then and now!

If I ran for president, I would put 3-day weekends and 30-hour days on my platform.  Those extra hours in the day will be for sleep – I believe this nation is sleep-deprived – and for attending to and taking time out for,  one’s arts and hobbies.

Has anyone read the 4-Hour Workweek? Wonder if it’s a lot of blather.

Meanwhile, a little coffee and conversation with HM, a little time in the garden…getting caught up on Zen time.

PS…now reading:
HOME by Julie Andrews (please tell me she has a ghostwriter or, is she also an excellent writer on top of everything else? sheesh)
THE PINE BARRENS by John McPhee  (and I lived in Jersey and had no idea of the region…’til I saw THE SOPRANOS)
BEACHCOMBERS by Nancy Thayer (because it’s summer and I saw this book on the shelf and it looked…summery)
THE BLISS OF BLOGGING forgot author (sorry!!!) but need to read it since still, after several years, I’m trying to kickstart this blog)
FREEDOM by J Franzen (yes, I’m still reading it…egads, it’s long,  longer than other long books. OK, and I think I have writer’s envy, too.)
A stack of NEW YORKER mags, 2 VOGUES (july & august) and the 2 recent issues of POETS & WRITERS magazine.
ok, wait, was I complaining about time?

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , ,

§ 14 Responses to Home again…

  • shoreacres says:

    I’m just grinning. One of my firmest convictions is that every one of us has all the time there is, and even if you, Madam President, were able to decree those three-day weekends and thirty hour weeks, plenty of folks would be grousing that there just isn’t enough time!

    As for the 4-Hour Workweek – well, I don’t know if it’s blather but it certainly doesn’t sound very appealing. I guess what really got me on his website was the concept of “outsourcing my life”. Fiddlesticks – I’ve spent 65 years learning to claim my life. Why would I want to outsource it?

    I’ll give Ferriss this – he’s probably going to get rich on his book!

    Anyway – welcome home. I surely have enjoyed following your Cali posts, although I’m just now beginning to regain enough energy to start putting fingers to keyboard.

    • oh says:

      Dear Shore, You’re absolutely right about the time thing. We do have what we need…(if we take it!) I have to STOP being so “correct” about schedules and timeslots. Egads. As for outsourcing? pooh.

      And I’m so glad you’re back.

  • Ah yes, the plight of the sleep deprived. Try as I may, I can not seem to get more than 7 hours a night. My body has adjusted but I crash on Friday night big time.

    So much to read, so little time! I just finished a disappointing book that I am reviewing for a book tour – it was just a little too heavy for me. So now I am reading “The Last Time I was in Paris” which is totally light reading and a bit on the smutty side. It’s just what I need right now. Plus all the Paris references are fabulous.

    I want to read Freedom, but the length scares me!!

    • oh says:

      Really? I thought we were the only ones who folded our tents on Friday nights. Somehow, your comment makes me feel better!!!

      As for the length of FREEDOM, I guess it’s not longer than many other books like GONE FOR THE WIND or something, but it’s rich, it takes time…

      I must look into the Paris book you reference above!

  • ds says:

    Three day weekends sound nice, but 30-hour days would just give me more worry-time; will pass on that.

    Ms. Andrews has, in fact, written several children’s books under her married name (Edwards) both with and without her daughter. They seem to be fairly popular.

    Kudos to you for attempting Mr. Franzen’s doorstop. And when did you live in Jersey?????

    • oh says:

      DS – I have completely missed Andrews’ children’s books but several have since mentioned them, so sounds like I oughta take a look!

      We lived in Jersey from 1984 to 1986 – in Bloomfield…loved it there and so close to the City!

  • mandy says:

    Oh to have more time. I am all for that. Glad that you are catching up on some zen time. I read Home several months ago and absolutely loved it. I’m a huge fan of her children’s books as well. She is a great writer.

    Hope you’ve had a great weekend!

  • Becky says:

    Welcome back! And YES for three-day weekends!

  • Bree says:

    4 hr workweek? hmmm, that would be great. Since we are dreaming, how about independantly wealthy, then we don’t have to work at all. Just do whatever, whenever. Someday, right? LOL

  • RL says:

    Freedom comes from within…we all are so time deprived, spending our waking time earning and spending money, protecting our “stuff”. I need more time for my gentler pursuits: Staring into my wife’s forever blue eyes, watching my birds feed and preen, letting my ancient beagle hang at my feet for hours at a time, writing songs, playing my musical instruments, inventing cooking recipes ……….Someday, someday….back to work everyone!

  • jeanie says:

    OK, my friend — I’ve looked at every post, will comment on this one as I’m catching up (before I disappear for vacation) — looks like yours was fab! That restaurant post made me dizzy! And I loved your writing notebook! And Venice! And a screenwriter? WHO?!

    I’m glad you’re enjoying Julie — I thought you might like it; I did. And it really fills in those early years we knew less about. Amazing woman!

    Sorry I’ve been MIA — our new office situation is stressing us all out. Long days (very), too much travel (I really wish I didn’t have to go away for a week; it’ll take me four days to maybe relax). Hectic schedule upon return. I’m preposted with some fun things for the next week or so, so stop by when you can and I’ll check in if I’m at the computer. Hugs!j

  • Care says:

    Time. It doesn’t matter how much or how little; what gets done gets done. Perhaps what is wrong is the concept or linking time passing with results happening.

  • I read a Julie Andrews book as a child but it was published under Julie Edwards or something like that. It was a pretty good book if I recall.

  • Kathleen says:

    We are all sleep deprived! There ought to be a law…

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Home again… at This Writing Life ....

meta

