The weekend …

July 30, 2011 § 11 Comments

FRIDAY NIGHT…unwinding, poolside ….

SATURDAY …  flowering and kitchening…

Sometimes you think you’re the only one. The week rockets by with spins, turns and not so well performed pirouettes at work.  You push large rocks up steep hills, you listen as people transfer monkeys from their back to yours and walk away, you envision, you list,  you write and rewrite,  a dear friend resigns a position you thought was ideal and you realize that even in this economy, the trend is not only that people lose jobs but that people leave jobs because the job have become untenable. That is not the case where you work; nevertheless you put in long long hours and long long meetings and stay so awake, alert, visionary, on point, that by Friday night, you curl on the couch with your spouse and fall so deeply asleep that when you wake, you think you’re still at work and have fallen asleep at your desk and has anyone seen you, sleep wrinkled and tousled?

When you reach out to friends you find they are spinning the same delirious tale.

And so we learn to really vacation and lounge about when we take vacation time.
We learn to really sleep when it’s time to sleep.
We learn to love even more the preparation of simple meals and being at the table together.
We learn to look up and say thanks.

If a weed grows in a small crack in the driveway, it’s ok.
If two little bambis fit their heads inside the iron gate to eat the glorious morning glories from our garden, it’s ok. There are plenty of blooms to enjoy.

How lovely to resist schedules.

Tagged: , , , , , , , ,

§ 11 Responses to The weekend …

  • Lisa of Lisa's Yarns says:

    Well said. Life moves mighty fast. It’s good to have time to relax and enjoy yourself. And to let some things go. Like not having a perfectly cleaned house. And not painting my finger nails. I can do a lot, but I can’t do it all

    Hope you are enjoying your weekend with Nor and Knight!

  • Kathleen says:

    Such beautiful words!

  • Arti says:

    Your post is a nice respite… thanks for the honest writing. The harder you work, the more you enjoy every moment of rest and leisure, of writing for yourself, and… of blogging. Enjoy the rest of the weekend, oh! (In Canada, it’s a long weekend for us.)

  • shoreacres says:

    And sometimes, it’s necessary to refuse schedules. Easier for the self-employed, of course – but given a choice between losing some customers (which I did) and spending Mom’s last six weeks with her? What kind of a choice is that?

    Not everyone can take my path, I know. And it’s a dangerous one, given my increasing age and the uncertainties revolving around some things I’ve assumed – like social security. But every step I’ve taken toward simplification has been its own reward – when I remember those days you describe, all I can say is – go dabble your toes in that pool a little longer! And then have another nap!

  • mandy says:

    Such a beautifully written piece. The weekends are such a great time to relax, unwind, just be. I hope you are enjoying your weekend.

  • Dale says:

    By taking a different path in my career I have had time to stop and smell the flowers…literally. It has given me time to enjoy grandchildren and gardening without distraction. As I start pushing my rocks up the hill again I will be able to reflect on the course of things to come more rationally. In the future I may take a sabbatical when things cloud my ability to perform to my liking. I hope you are enjoying all of you weekend…and think about sabbaticals 🙂

  • oh says:

    Lisa – Yes, Knight and Nor fill the house with even more music. And they shared “wedding chapel shopping” with me yesterday – I snapped dozens of photographs. No, we didn’t take “Michael” along with us – he would have gotten all sentimental….can’t wait ’til you are here.

    Kathleen – Thanks, Kathleen. Actually I wondered this morning if it wasn’t a completely “downer” entry but will spark things up a bit this morning with some cheer, having had some rest and got a few things in order! Will stop over today, too – have been out of the blog loop (once again!)

    Arti – Always so good to hear from you. Hmmmm… a long weekend? lovely. BTW, we went to see COWBOYS AND ALIENS last night. Nothing cultural to report there and there are tons of inconsistencies BUT it was some good entertainment. However, it was only its second night open and the theatre was not full. I guess there are dozens of reasons, but I thought for some reason that the juxtaposition of cowboys and aliens might pique everyone’s curiosity. I give it an 8; HM said 7 but I think he really means a 5, or even less.

    Shore — And schedules don’t account for change and things-that-just-plain-happen as we go along.
    I’m watching the finches in the sunflowers as I write this and have my suit in for some of that dabbling in the water time. You are likely already at work on a boat this morning. Always always good to hear from you!

    Mandy – Would be so nice if you were sitting here with all of us this a.m. Want to hear all about your opportunity, how’s it going, what you think.
    Will the QVC event still be on your agenda even if you move? (must get over to your blog – you have likely already updated/answered more on your career sitch.)

    Dale – Hey, do you have a blog? are you posting pictures of your flowers and the fox? Sabbatical? brilliant idea! Was mentioned here, too.

    • Dale says:

      No blog, yet. I will send you links to my Flickr and Facebook accounts for picture postings. The three of us enjoyed Cowboys & Aliens on Sunday even though it did not fill any deep cultural gaps…it was fun.

  • Nora says:

    Love the first picture.
    This weekend was a lovely blend of slowing down… got just enough done, more or less, and it was just delightful.
    Thanks for going with us to the shop for the chapel.
    I’m beyond excited about it! ❤

  • Becca says:

    Funny – today I wrote about how much I’m enjoying my schedule…but the key thing is that it’s my schedule, and not imposed on me by the outside 🙂

    Your time away sounded so wonderful. I’m glad you enjoyed it!

  • jeanie says:

    Oh, my friend, you are SO getting me right where I live in this post. Fabulous week, wicked re-entry. Working on finding the hidden joys in the every-day. I used to be very good at that…

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading The weekend … at This Writing Life ....

meta

