fruit, Fall and fine food writing…

September 21, 2011 § 9 Comments

What IS it about berries and cream…
Or, berries sprinkled with raw sugar…
Or, a quick thick dip  in some chocolate fudge sauce…

ah, but the berries are on the wane, making room for the apple, that icon of health, Johnny A-seed and Fall.
 I made a mile high pie on Sunday and forgot to shoot it (with my camera, I mean, of course!)

As for best apple pie recipe, you have to know what pieces to steal from which cookbook,but do include something from the JOY OF COOKING (the vanilla!).
Also, you have to have a Grandmother somewhere in your family history who put pies on the table every weekend, never getting all dramatic or show-offy about it, never blinking, never missing. Upon praise, she lifted an eyebrow and gave a bit of a smile and went on about her business.  And we never got her apple pie recipe in writing, either.

So, I try to get mine to be at least the color of hers (thanks to cinnamon and a little shoosh of nutmeg) and focus on the crust as well as on apples that have FLAVOR! Sure you can make a pie with apples from the root cellar that have been sitting there forever, but treat yourself and get really good ones, really juicy sweet-tart apples,  no more than a week old from the orchard.

Yup, if I had me a horse, I’d ride out there (where?) and pick all day ’til even the horse said” that’s enough.”

Here’s to apple pie time!
Which has me thinking it’s a good time to read one of Laurie Colwin’s essay/cookbooks again – give ’em a try if you haven’t – yum!
     HOME COOKING: A WRITER IN THE KITCHEN
     MORE HOME COOKING:  A WRITER RETURNS TO THE KITCHEN
These are wonderful. For so many reasons. Fulfill  your reading (and eating ) appetites.
And …. these would make grand gifts for the holidays…seriously.
Read them. Enjoy. Tralala.

Tagged: , , , , ,

§ 9 Responses to fruit, Fall and fine food writing…

  • anno says:

    LC’s Home Cooking Essays are the very best essays on cooking, eating, and the domestic life, ever, bar none, even if I do tend to disagree with her about a few niggling details (roast a chicken all day at 350 degrees? really? why? especially when 450 degrees for one hour results in such deliciously crispy skin & juicy flesh?). They are friendly disagreements, nothing that gets in the way of enjoying her wonderful writing.

    Apple pie is the best pie. Ever. And the best one is always the one right in front of me. Yours sounds delicious. Yes, berries & cream (or dipped in chocolate) are fabulous, in their time. But now it’s time for pumpkin and spice. Bring on the pie! Welcome to autumn!

  • ds says:

    Ah, the Sunday apple pie. Nothing like it, and of course no recipe. Yours sounds yummy (vanilla, hmmm…).
    I like Ms. Colwin too.

  • litlove says:

    I’m not a huge fan of autumn, but I do love the turn in cooking from salads and fish dishes to stews and casseroles and bakes. It’s lovely to feel that extra nip of hunger the cold weather brings. I have hardly ever made pastry (I’m afraid!) so I don’t make many pies, but perhaps this year, I’ll branch out….Bet yours are gorgeous, Oh!

  • jeanie says:

    Time to pull out Laurie again. She is a fave (as you know!) and Home Cooking may be my favorite of hers. Your pie sounds wonderful and leads me to wonder what delicious apple thing I should play about with in the kitchen this weekend! I have some lovely Galas if I don’t munch them all down first!

    Thank you so much for the lovely card in my box today. It made me smile on what was yet another grizzly day. Need that — a lot! It’s a wonderful card, no matter where it was sent from!

    Wishing Kansas City was closer to you — headed there in October for a conference!

  • shoreacres says:

    I’ve never heard of Laurie Colwin – it seems I’ve missed something, and I’ll check her out.

    But pie? Oh, I never miss pie when it’s around. My own grannie thought pie was a perfectly adequate breakfast food, and she’d make a couple whenever the supply was getting low. Rhubarb. Apple. Peach. Cherry. Pumpkin. Sour cream-raisin.

    I love autumn and I love pie baking. I buy my pecans in bulk from an orchard in Georgia. They’ll arrive soon after I get home from my trip to Iowa in October and I’ll start making my favorite pie – pecan, with a filling of eggs, butter and sugar and not a drop of Karo syrup. Yum!

  • Kathleen says:

    I love Fall and the apple pie that comes with it. I will miss those strawberries though…

  • Becky says:

    Mmmm, apple pie! Have you ever made it with honeycrisp apples? They’re a little pricey but are my favorite for flavor – and I think the best in a pie!

  • Corri says:

    I do so like the look of those strawberries! But strawberries in autumn? They’ve come and gone, with Wimbledon and all that, in the spring. that is, the ones that grow in England – of course, we can get the imports but that’s not the same, is it? Not as fresh as the ones you show us there. Mind you, autumn here is creating a real stunner: it’s about 25 to 27 degrees (C – I don’t know what that is in F!) and that is hot, unusually hot. Not like autumn at all. My niece made an apple cake today and I had two thick slices. Two! Lovely.

  • Becca says:

    Re Laurie Colwin – absolutely charming food writing, and now I’m going to have to make another trip to the library!

    Re Pie – I had such a grandmother, who put pies on the table nearly every day (which was why my mother had to shop for me in the “Chubby Girl” department!) Apple, strawberry, chocolate, rhubarb, cherry – but my favorite was and still is – raisin.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading fruit, Fall and fine food writing… at This Writing Life ....

meta

