Pollen warriors…

October 2, 2011 § 11 Comments

 

 

 

Dear old Bumble gets so heavy he nearly cannot fly and takes time to dust off a bit before launching again into the next sweet flower.

Moth or butterfly? I  know not. But with  yellow veins,legs, and antennae, she’s a lovely show and seems to know which flowers show off her complexion to its utmost.

Tagged: , , , ,

§ 11 Responses to Pollen warriors…

  • shoreacres says:

    So pretty! And those bumblebees are just funny. Aren’t they the ones who aren’t supposed to be able to fly, aerodynamically speaking? How happy this pair must be to have something good to eat!

  • Kathleen says:

    Wow, these are incredible pictures!

  • jeanie says:

    After all our rain and gloomy weather, it’s so nice to see these colorful flowers. The last of my bright ones have gone. This post makes me smile!

    Stop by when you have a chance and read about my best find ever! I think you’d appreciate it!

  • RL says:

    What a fat-assed bee! How funny is that. I have felt the way he looks when I walk away from Chinese restaurants all-you-can-eat luncheon buffets……:)

  • oh says:

    Shore – honestly, the bee acted like a drunken little fellow. He had to dust himself off due to pollen overload. And in doing so, made quite a mess of the flower. Aerodynamic? Nay, just as you mention. But so industrious.

    Kathleen- Thanks! Now I have to master the zoom feature a lot better…really up close, these little creatures have so many stories to tell.

    Jeanie – We thought there would be a frost the other night but somehow escaped and the petunias and morning glories continue (though somewhat raggedly in places)! I’m headed over to your place now!

    RL- LOL – I, too, know that feeling! Funny to think of the little bee that way.

  • Jeannine says:

    Geez, what fantastic photos oh – and the fat-assed comment made me laugh!

  • aubrey says:

    Although bees terrify me, I love to watch them on their sweet journeys. I don’t mind getting close either, because surely they’re more interested in the flowers than my face?

    Still, when they get caught in a breeze and sway too close, I do tend to jump back with a little shriek. I can’t help it!

  • Heather says:

    I am always in awe of the photos you post. Very nice!

  • Lisa Alber says:

    Oh! I’m glad to see you’re still out here with your wonderful photography! I’m getting back into the blogosphere and slowly visiting all my viritual pals (on my blogroll). Thought I’d say “hi.”

    This post reminded me of the bee scare of a few years back. This year I could have sworn I saw more around, for which I was thrilled. I love bees.

  • Bella Rum says:

    Beautiful. That butterfly is gorgeous. I once had a perennial garden. In the early morning, I would always find a few bumble bees clinging to the flowers. Snoozing and so heavy with pollen, they looked like drunken louts who had imbibed too much at the local bar the night before. So comical.

  • Looks like a brimstone butterfly to me…. Lovely bee too!

    I wanted also to comment on the post with the wonderful photos of the morning glories – such vivid colours and such wonderful light! (For some reason I weasn’t able to leave a comment on that post!)

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Pollen warriors… at This Writing Life ....

meta

