getting ready for cold…

October 23, 2011 § 12 Comments

“Hun, where is our Hudson Bay blanket? I can’t find it!”

Um….

 

(photo taken at annual Best of Missouri at Missouri Botanical Garden)

Tagged: , , , , ,

§ 12 Responses to getting ready for cold…

  • Becky says:

    Hello “Oh”! Thanks for stopping by my blog and leaving a comment! I’m thrilled to meet another writer from St. Louis! You mentioned the MWG, I’m president of Saturday Writers, a chapter of the guild. We’re in St. Peters. Please e-mail me! Writergal53 at G mail dot com

  • Kathleen says:

    I’m anxious for Fall to arrive here in California. It was 85 degrees here today and it is hard to imagine that it is October when it is this hot!

    • oh says:

      Dear K, the wind is blowing the leaves all over the place – impossible to rake them up today! (excuse #1) We are in the gusty midst of Fall now and temperatures to match. Just start driving east to cool down!

  • RL says:

    If winter is here, can spring be far off? Got to love the Bard’s optimism and stoic acceptance of the flow of the seasons…..Hudson Bay blankets are the best for a cold winter’s night. Thanks for sharing.

    Feeling napish myself…now where is that HBB of mine?

  • jeanie says:

    Those are really cute. They’d look terrible on me, but boy — they’re cute!

    • oh says:

      Jeanie- you’ re right. I’m not so sure of the “look” of these once actually being worn. Might be one of those things that just looks good on the hangar. I was looking for a winter jacket already to wear last night to the game – geez, gotta organize the closets now, too?

  • shoreacres says:

    I had one of those blankets once, or used one. I can’t remember – it was the striped sort.

    I did laugh to see the red and black plaid. When I was cleaning out Mom’s cedar chest, down in the very bottom I found the old wool snow pants that my dad wore when he shoveled snow. Red and black plaid, and heavy! I can only imagine what they were like once they’d been saturated with snow and such!

    I’m dying for some cold weather. Got a taste in Minnesota (44 one night!) but now it’s back to warm. Maybe later this week. 😉

    • oh says:

      Linda – oh, grew up with so manhy of those old wool plaids. Yes, they got heavy, that’s right! but they resisted the moisture for quite a good while before absorbing it. That’s how we kids could stay outdoors for so long, till our wool hit maximum moisture load, then we trudged back into the house with pills of snow falling off our mittens and coats and our moms (my mom and auntie) wiping up the floor afterwards. And oh, how putting scarves and woolies on the radiators to dry made things hiss and changed the air in the mud room. I could go on and on, just from your prompt line about the red and black plaid! Thank you! (yup, headed to my journal next….!)

  • Arti says:

    oh… i just saw the cutest Hudson Bay color-striped items at The Bay today. I remembered your post here so I took some pics with my iPhone. I don’t think I can send photos thru this comment box, but hey, check your tweets tomorrow. I’ll send them to you thru Twitter. 😉

    • oh says:

      Arti – got em! very cool stuff. A Bay store. Mmmmm….methinks I would enjoy that highly! I do love the tocques…and next time I visit Canada, I’m taking (some sort of) a hat with me!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading getting ready for cold… at This Writing Life ....

meta

