Listing…from page to page

November 4, 2011 § 6 Comments

(photos courtesy of Google images)

Catalogs come in the mail every day, catalogs as thick as bricks and braggery, cajoling, poeticizing, pimping all manner of things, from soft scarves (even the pashmina is no longer new) to big dice to hang from your rearview mirror. Oh, the chockful blockhead-ery of so many treasures and such items to delight, cause  a chuckle, cause a sigh, a second look or a circling with a ready pen, the penholder eager to satisfy the gift list. Yes, the gift list! It is already underway. 

And then, there it was in a catalog – an advent calendar showing its pefeclty lovely unique face (above).  It has 24 little drawers – see the knobs? An engaging idea right there – and apparently, within each drawer is a fingerpainted image. As an adult, I’m intrigued. As a kid, I’d be nuts for it, those little drawers, each different, and of course the  frame with its artistic detail, the size of it and the Highland cattle and backdrop, rather 3d-ish for effect – and the magic of it, the breadth of it, the beauty of it. Seriously. Ah, but the price ($4,950).  Egads.

Which immediately hearkens me to perhaps creating my own advent calendars for the kids (and adults) instead. Because there is and always will be some kind of hushed magic in opening little advent doors and drawers.

Tagged: , , , ,

§ 6 Responses to Listing…from page to page

  • shoreacres says:

    I have a friend in England who made an Advent calendar for her …niece? goddaughter? Can’t remember. Anyway, she needlepointed the pocket for each day. I think she petit-pointed, actually. It was splendid when she finished, but oh, the work! She began in June. I think we’re late for that kind of project!

  • jeanie says:

    I’ve loved advent calendars forever. This one is exceptionally beautiful. Somehow, all those vintage pieces from my childhood were thrown away during moves or mom-purging or whatever. Being the paper-person, I sure wish I had them now. Been missing you — looks like there is much to catch up on!

  • I love advent calendars!! I had heard that in Germany they have wooden calendars with drawers to open. I was in German in 2005 during the Christkindel Market season and I searched high and low and did not find one. 😦 I was a bit heart broken. But the search continues. I love that first one, but ay yi yi. The price tag on it…

    I am mentally making my Christmas list!!

  • Lisa Alber says:

    Growing up, advent calendars were one of my favorite things about Christmas. What is it about the little paper doors that opened onto holiday pictures? Each day was a mini-story. Open up, see a candy cane. Open up, see a rocking horse. And each little picture came with oodles of images and expectations.

    Though, I was always jealous of my Dutch friend whose advent calendar featured pockets filled with candy.

  • Nora says:

    I would love it if you created your own advent calendar for families! We found cheap-o ones that are reusable in the $2.50 section at Target for the kidlets which is kind of fun. But don’t worry, I will still find the ones with chocolate from Trader Joe’s to have as well. Me and D need one after all, yes? =)

  • Kathleen says:

    What a beautiful advent calendar. Too bad it is so expensive.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Listing…from page to page at This Writing Life ....

meta

