traditional holiday fave…

December 17, 2011 § 9 Comments

More favorite things…

Annual wreathmaking class:
We made it to our annual wreath making class at the Botanical Garden this year!  and HM was not the only guy there! One other, we didn’t recognize him, had joined the ranks and in fact the class was twice its usual size. We were all giddy and yet productive (high on the scent of the fir and balsalm we were working with. It was wonderful and too busy and talk-y to take a lot of pictures! 


Not quite finished; HM holding up our wreaths is always an “interim” activity to see what we want to do with them next – trim, add, insert accessories, etc. And there’s plenty of help and encouragement from all those around us.

Holiday Gardenland Express:
And then, after HM stashed our wreaths in the car, we were  off to the Gardenland Express…the annual Christmas train exhibit just down the hall. We made it before the press of the crowd, and I wondered how many of us were really “seeing” it since we were hauling our cameras in there and aiming our lenses at every nook and cranny for pictures. So I stopped shooting and took the kid approach and we did the “treasure hunt” looking for all the little details, including trains with cars carrying succulents, one train loaded with nothing but gifts, another zipping along with very ’50s looking passengers, etc.
 
A Dozen Gorgeous Wreaths:
And then upstairs, after the trains, to the annual wreath exhibit. I loved them all. But did not tell HM. Tried to be quiet. Didn’t want him bidding on them!  Last year he surprised me with winning the silent auction on one of the wreaths with which I had fallen in love. It is now hanging on the wall in the dining room now. It takes up the entire wall! (picture to follow later). I keep it in my office the rest of the year and it rules the room in the loveliest way.

Herein some pictures, all jumbled and stuck together, due to some weird techie quirk I’m having this morning!

Tagged: , , , ,

§ 9 Responses to traditional holiday fave…

  • shoreacres says:

    What fun! I knew it was about time for this. It has to be so satisfying to make your own wreaths – and fun to do it with others.

    That wreath with the antlers and pine cones is … well, let’s just say it’s a good thing me and my credit card was nowhere in the vicinity, because I would have given a good bit for that baby. As it is, I’ve saved a photo of it, and I’m going to keep my eye out for antlers when I head to the hill country!

    Merry Christmas!

  • So pretty! I can’t wait to see a picture of the wreath Mr. Corleone bought you! That was so thoughtful of him to surprise you like that!

    I like the antler one. 😉 I come from a family of hunters, so I think it would be quite popular with my brothers and dad!

  • Arti says:

    What beautiful wreaths, and wonderful that you can make your own too. How sweet it is that HM wont the bid and got you the wreath your fave. That’s a precious gift in itself, the bid I mean. Looks like you’re gearing up for a fantastic Christmas and thoroughly enjoying yourself. And oh, I’m looking forward to your Best of 2011 post. 😉

  • julietwilson says:

    what beautiful wreaths and what a lovely way to spend some time….

    Juliet
    Crafty Green Poet
    http://craftygreenpoet.blogspot.com

  • aubrey says:

    I don’t have a ‘proper’ wreath – what I do have is a concoction of bows and bells tied together, and then attached to the little ‘go to hell window of my door. During this time of year Boyfriend never rings the doorbell – instead, he just gives the bells a tug.

    A neighbor had a similar idea: one bow, two bells. Not that I’m competitive of anything, but my festive door blows theirs quite out of the water!

  • jeanie says:

    Wondered if you’d be doing the class this year — these are all terrific and I love the exhibit, too! I have a feeling if I was there at this time of year, I’d be right with you, fiddling with the greens till I got them right but really gnashing at the bit to get into those exhibits! Looks like the best tradition ever!

  • RL says:

    The sweet warm scent of a freshly made Douglas fir wreath takes me back, like Baudelaire……My Christmas cheer surrounds me- in the memories of my Mom in the kitchen of our old city house making traditional Italian honey-laced cookies, of the hum of my Lionel trains when they shifted into reverse, of the clank of the radiators when the heat came up in the middle of the night, of the eternal sleeplessness that was Christmas eve night, of the flush on my cheeks after sledding down the urban alleyways, of the beauty of the melody to Barbara Allen in the Christmas Carol movie, of the wide-eyes and forever-pleasures on Christmas morning…and now, all these years later, the joy of giving, of being able to give deeply and freely, of the silent warmth of anonymous small acts of kindness for some of those I have never met, of celebrating the beloved ones who comprise my family,of thankfulness for all that has passed, all that is and all that will come. Of the eternal pleasures derived from loving one woman for a long, long time, like an endless jug of heady wine, nourishing, intoxicating and oh, so sweet and strong….Happy Christmas to all and may this old blue marble of a planet of ours enjoy some deep and lasting peace!

  • litlove says:

    The wreaths look gorgeous and so festive. Just dropping by to wish you a very merry Christmas indeed, dear, dear Oh. Hope it’s a wonderful one for you and your family, with a splendid 2012 headed your way. Much love!

  • Bella Rum says:

    This looks like so much fun. I used to go out and cut my greenery and make make wreaths for my mother when I was a kid and teenager. Your wreaths are lovely.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading traditional holiday fave… at This Writing Life ....

meta

