Christmas rocks on…

December 29, 2011 § 12 Comments

Kids returned to their respective homes:  Jack the Dog went home with Nor and D, of course and Snarl headed back to his studio miles away. Mom is back at her house. The sun is out.

Christmas is still everywhere.
I have even thought this morning that there are some corners in some of the rooms that even now, even still could use some Christmas decoration. But I stay my hand.

There is never too much Christmas spirit.
Time to pause and walk around the house, something I rarely get to do this time of day. (on vacay this week.)

Thinking of all of you with whom I share comments and creativity and stories and wishing you a continuing joyous season and Happy New Year…and also that you could be here for some coffee and pie.

Pictured below, the DR and the large mossy wreath is the one HM “won” at auction at the Botanical Garden.

Tagged: , , , ,

§ 12 Responses to Christmas rocks on…

  • That wreath is gorgeous!!!! I love it! Christmas is still alive and well in my home as well. I will leave everything up until the weekend of the 7th. That is the first weekend I will be home so I figure that is a good time to take it down – plus it’s the weekend of the epiphany, I believe! 🙂

    Happy New year!

    • oh says:

      Thanks, Lisa. Wish you could be/have been here while Nor and D were here. We did speak of you and look forward to your next visit! There was some serious games going here between Wii and Kinect. Egads, I must work out just to play some of them.

      And you’re right, Lisa. The 6th & 7th are Epiphany weekend. (sigh) Always difficult to pack away the lights and other Xmas brights, ‘specially when the winter lowers its dreariness. So far, tho’, many summer days and only one bit of snow.

      Keep studying and training – we’re cheering for you!

      Happy New Year to you, too!

  • shoreacres says:

    Oh, the wreath is gorgeous! And I like the way you’ve bracketed it with the red berry wreaths.

    I keep my tree and such up until Epiphany, too – although this year I’m going to push it one more day, until Orthodox Christmas. For one thing, I love all the sparkly and bright. For another, I took myself away from home for Christmas – had a wonderful time, but I haven’t had my fill of pretty things yet!

    Wishing you all good things in this wonderful season – and a little snow to go with it, yes?

    • oh says:

      Yes, a little snow would be lovely and somehow elegant. Meanwhile the wind is blowing like something out of a movie and dashing things around.

      Oh, I agree, it’s so nice to have the Christmas things up for awhile – so pretty in the sweet dullness of winter. I will likely move the big wreath upstairs to my “office” – it will force finding something “cool” to hang there in its place. What was there before? A too-small painting.

      I hope you’re enjoying some wonderful, free time off and big hello to Dixie, too and hats off to her for behaving around the tree!

      Happy New Year, Linda and here’s to wonderful hours and hours of writing!

  • litlove says:

    Happy happy new year to you and yours, dear Oh! I always think of your wonderful decorating and cooking (and writing) as outward manifestations of your big, loving, generous heart. Here’s to a very contented and joyful 2012!

    • oh says:

      Dear LL – Thanks for your kind wishes and the same to you and yours! I try to picture how the holidays must look in your neighborhood. We are sitting here, snowless, smack dab in the middle of the country.
      The family discussed having the Holiday in London in the next few years. We were all able to settle on NYC as the next possible venue. See? We’re getting closer!
      (Note: I did happen to suggest holidaying at a beautiful wilderness lodge but the youngest among us, our son Snarl, was immediately opposed to being “stranded” in the middle of nowhere (it’s not, really) and wanted to go someplace with energy.)

      I hope you’re all holidaying joyously in the Litlove household and have had time to do absolutely nothing or whatever comes to mind.
      I’m about to select the next “read” and although i suspect it should be something of import, I might just pick up a light little thing…ah, the choices!

      Happy New Year to all the LLs!

  • Arti says:

    oh what a beautifully decorated home for Christmas. With all the effort put into it, should extend the celebration way past New Year, at least the first month. I’d love to stop by and have coffee and pie… alas, we’re thousands of miles apart (approximately). Have a wonderful New Year, oh, you and yours, and all the best in 2012!

    • oh says:

      Thanks, Arti,
      And Happy New Year to you, too!

      I hope that my work brings me in your direction one of these days/weeks/months! It would be grand to meet up and continue some of the discussions and conversations we’ve had here in Blogworld.

      Stay tuned!
      And I’m still not opposed to any bit of snow being sent in this direction as long as it doesn’t stem transportation. Everyone’s moving around a lot right now.

      Here’s to a gorgeous 2012!

      PS I’m working on my “top” lists now! yikes, they’re awfully subjective.

  • jeanie says:

    Your home is lovely and that wreath! I’m guessing you were keeping your mouth shut? Well, he picked a good one!

    I’ll leave my stuff up for a bit — the white tree may stay for a bit longer, and I’ll swap out Santas for snowfolk. I just hate taking the tree down; enjoying it is one of my favorite things.

    Had to chuckle about wanting to add a little more but holding firm. I didn’t hold firm, having just picked up a couple of treasures at half off (from a store where I can’t manage full price) and the tree and windowledge have new friends!

    • oh says:

      Good for you! Hope you snap some pictures of the windowledges for us! I was behind someone in Michaels yesterday. She had shopped the sales and had a basketful and I was tempted, oh, how I was tempted to run back among the aisles and get some things. But all i really needed was some stamping dyes (and in fact didn’t really “need” those but it’s all part of holiday fun.
      And I love the idea of your “white” tree. Hmmm…..

  • Bella Rum says:

    Your house is beautiful, and I must echo what others have written, that wreath is gorgeous. I can’t believe another Christmas has come and gone, another year has come and gone! I’ve enjoyed your blog very much and I’m so glad I found you. I’ve forgotten how I ever landed here now, but it was a fortunate day.

    Wishing you all the best in 2012.

    • oh says:

      big hugs to you, BR! I’m not sure either, where/from where we started writing – I would guess via Jeanie (at Marmelade Gypsy), though. I am trying to plan (ahahaha) my writing days and particularly when I’m going to blog in 2012 – so many bloggers are successful at doing it each day and I can’t seem to pull that off (on a regular basis). Once a week doesn’t seem enough…overall, must keep the “fun” in it, though and love hearing from you and reading what’s going on chez vous. Happy, happy new year! And here’s to maintaining this wonderful connection.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Christmas rocks on… at This Writing Life ....

meta

