The “Archer”…caught red-handed and up to no good

March 15, 2012 § 5 Comments

Archie, the name for ALL the  squirrels that live here on Lochcrest  is up to no good. Though any one of the at least three of them that live in our very immediate environs knows full well that getting on the bird feeder is impossible, nonetheless there is great sport in eternally trying to win the platform of the feeder, even if it means skinnying up the pole and finding oneself inside the black tube and STILL unable to get to the feeder. As for the BBQ approach, beware of the grill’s summer face and keep in mind that it is kept – aha! – just out of “leap” distance.

And so, in the spirit of squirrels (and yes, I know they’re rodents, or, rats with furry tails) but I prefer the Beatrix Potter perspective, I recommend a look back and a quick read of SQUIRREL NUTKIN. Lovely, eh?

Tagged: , , , ,

§ 5 Responses to The “Archer”…caught red-handed and up to no good

  • Hahaha those are cute! We are fans of squirrels too and I have several pictures lol! I like these 🙂

  • RL says:

    Squirrels,eh!? Rats with Hollywood tales and good PR department, I say.
    They love nuts in the shell….much fun watching them devour them or cram them into their mouths, destined to be stacked away in an undisclosed location…
    Sometimes you feel like a nut, ya’ know?
    Thanks for sharing. Nuttin’ report- good stuff.

  • Oh, I have always loved Archie AND Squirrel Nutkin. Aren’t they tenacious? So much fun to watch! Glad you are enjoying! I would, too!

  • shoreacres says:

    You know I love Archie and all his kin – and I love that illustration of the squirrel on the Potter book. I thought for years that those squirrel ears were just badly drawn. Then, I got a copper mold with a squirrel as decoration, and it had “those” ears. I discovered it’s an actual species, not a botanical artist with bad eyesight!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading The “Archer”…caught red-handed and up to no good at This Writing Life ....

meta

