last thursday…

March 24, 2012 § 24 Comments

It was the best of days. It was the worst of days.

And then there it was, shining like a beacon – the library.

And then that same evening, despite several “sandwich generation” phone calls of things gone afoul and amiss and staring down several hours of work to create a compelling PPT (an oxymoron, non?), I found myself sitting in Journaling class, pen poised, journal open to blank page (there are a lot of them) and listening.

I listened to the class leader share books on journaling and read excerpts from several of them. I listened to fellow journalers (normally an introverted lot) talk about what they were writing and why. I listened to one of them discuss healing through writing and another talk about presenting personal stories in wraps and scraps and books that would make others want to pick them up and read them.

I did a lot of listening and it was a balm. To be a good listener is as rich as to be a good teller.
Then I went home and wrote four pages. Four pages of nothing. But the stress dripped away and answers to some questions emerged. I know I can’t blog AND journal AND freelance. Well, I could, but in the interest of our family, my job and keeping the house clean and livable, um, it’s a stretch.

Nevertheless,  maybe, just maybe, I’m back in the writing game.

Tagged: , , , ,

§ 24 Responses to last thursday…

  • That is the most beautiful picture I’ve ever seen! lol! I’m absolutely in love with books! My blog is going to be about the one I’m currently reading today HAHA!

    • oh says:

      Going over right now to have a look at what you’re reading. I’ve just finished two books and can now attack the library “stack!”

  • Cassie says:

    Wow, go you! My library only gives 2 weeks per check out so I could never get that many in one go. Happy reading!

    • oh says:

      I must, I must, I must wean myself from these books (a bit) in order to get some work done outside!

      And what is your design and artful eye up to these days?

  • Typehype says:

    Good for you! Creativity is what will rescue you from all the other crap.

    • oh says:

      Why is it making me laugh so heartily to hear you say “rescue from all the other crap?” Ah, because it’s so true. So true.
      First I’m gonna sweep the patio.
      Then I’m gonna attack some blank pages.

      Hope the light is good in your neighborhood and is stirring you to paint.

  • Bella Rum says:

    Wasn’t the idea to lend books to the public one of man’s greatest ideas? Yes!

    • oh says:

      Absolutely. It’s the best “shopping” a person can do. (So you know I probably won’t read every one of those books, right? in fact, I’ve already weaned two from the pile: the Philippa Gregory and THE MINDFUL TRAVELER. It’s too organized and didactic rather than inspiring. Maybe another time for that one.

  • Arti says:

    The public library here is an essential amenity as far as I’m concerned. And the limit is 99 items per library card. 99! Of couse, I take out books, DVD’s, Blu-rays, CD’s. Are you a fan of Downton Abbey? I’ve taken the DVD’s out and rewatched them, loved them so much that I bought my own Blu-rays. (If you’re a fan, you just might enjoy the list of quotes I’ve compiled.) Anyway, books, movies, writing… what would we be without them?

  • shoreacres says:

    There’s a lot of apparent travel writing or travel-related writing or travel metaphors in that pile! Looks to me like you’re beginning a new journey!

  • ds says:

    My favorite line? “To be a good listener is as rich as to be a good teller.” Because one cannot tell if one cannot listen.
    My other favorite line? “Nevertheless, maybe, just maybe, I’m back in the writing game.”
    Yippee! (Though I don’t believe you were ever out. Fallow, perhaps, but not out.)

    • oh says:

      Hi, DS,

      I have found that organizing “things” around the house is allowing for more writing time….chi? dunno.. Go figure.

  • julietwilson says:

    Lovely sight to see a pile of books! Listening is so valuable, you’re right.

    Juliet
    http://craftygreenpoet.blogspot.com

    • oh says:

      Juliet – Don’t know what it is…usually in Spring, I’m “done” with reading so much. It’s not that I stop, I just spend more time outdoors. But geez, this spring, I’m all about the books in my spare time. Although it’s a gorgeous morning and I can read out in the yard. Bliss.

  • It is tough to balance everything and keep all the balls in the air – and be pleasant to be around! 😉 I can fit alot in but then I get stressy and unpleasant to be around!

    Let me know what it is that French Women Know (the answer is probably everything. Especially how to tie a scarf).

    • oh says:

      Ah, Lisa, you made me laugh – about tying a scarf!!!! Even a few weeks ago at chuirch my friend nudged me and said, “See the scarf that lady’s wearing? Do you have any idea how she tied it?” Yes, I saw. No, I couldn’t figure it out. She was probably French!

      Yes, I’ll get back to you on that book….

  • marmeladegypsy says:

    I see Ive missed a lot! I’m glad you’re back in the game (I’ll take that maybe as a yes!). And I agree with Lisa — tell me what French women know!

    Most of all, what resonates with me is the being a good listener. It’s amazing, isn’t it, when you listen, how you can then leave that space and DO! Three cheers. I see you have another post I’ve not seen, so I’m off to check that out!

  • Heather says:

    One of the best feelings in life is to walk out of a library with a book in my hand, or two, or three, or four. I could not exist if there weren’t libraries. Seriously, I would just curl up and die.

  • I spent some time in the local library here in GA as well recently, just to escape the duplex. It was refreshing to spend time among books. I need to do that more often. Here’s hoping I can get back in the writing game as well.

  • litlove says:

    I’m longing to know what you think of Crossing to Safety. I found it a wonderful book, although I needed a box of tissues to reach the end. But it was a reading experience that’s stayed with me for many, many years. And hurray for the journaling class! So glad it gave you the boost you were looking for.

  • RL says:

    The written human word, bound and beautified and elevated by the now nearly ancient illuminated printing process, achieves great gravitas. Reading is indeed fundamental, essential to our nature and so much fun- a time machine, a radio, TV show and theatre all in one….Whether read aloud, which my Bride loves or silently and privately, reading is indeed human and rewarding…thanks for sharing!

  • Carrie says:

    So glad your pen has found movement… keep listening; keep writing. (I’ve started another “newer/cleaner” mini book — you might have to make one too!)

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading last thursday… at This Writing Life ....

meta

