Tuesday…rather a cartoon of a day

April 3, 2012 § 13 Comments

I did NOT miss the Downton Abbey finale though I was on the road.
And that, my friend, is when TV is a treat. When you’re out there disconnected and it reaches out and grounds you. It normalizes wherever you are, dishes a little ditzy comfort, talks in your background so you’re not lonely, so you don’t recall how the waitress removed all the other place settings when you sat down to dinner (for one) earlier and so you don’t notice how big the hotel  room is, big enough for your entire family and their friends…and relatives, including second cousins.

You turn on the TV and there it is, a favorite show, a telling moment of entertaining drama. You do not have to lift a finger, your self moves into comfort mode; you just sit there and suspend your belief. Of course it’s far better if you’re the type (and I am) who enjoys social TV watching, with you and your friends making commentary, tossing out questions like “what did she say?” or “would you ever do a thing like that?” or “Doesn’t that gown look fabulous?” and etcetera. 
Yes, TV has its place, its places.

Though cartoonist Dave Sipress has published plenty, I’ve noticed him most often (and found him hilarious) in The New Yorker where he has published more than 350 cartoons since 1998. He plants the seed of laughter; we have to ponder it first, and makes us laugh at the truths of ourselves. That’s not a bad thing.

Tagged: , , , , ,

§ 13 Responses to Tuesday…rather a cartoon of a day

  • shoreacres says:

    Two digital roads diverged in a high-priced room,
    And sorry I could not tivo both
    And be one watcher, long I lay
    And pondered one plot far as I could
    To where it lost its train of thought,

    Then took the other, as well reviewed
    And having perhaps the better claim,
    Because of wardrobe, cast and glam,
    Though as for that the passing there
    Had worn them really about the same…

    What can I say? Sometimes my brain gets away from me! Loved the cartoon – and hated that waitress. When will they ever learn that dining alone deserves dignity, too?

    • oh says:

      What fun – a wonderful and spontaneous piece…and true enough! (but you didin’t really watch, DA, did you? but maybe? Downton Abbey has caused quite the stir (or perhaps better put, has stirred itself some affection) and it’s somewhat the comfort of the show as well as the “look back” rather than having to watch the wheels fall off something current, like Jersey Shore. Still I hear that show has huge appeal, probably because it’s gapingly unbelievable that it’s real.
      No, I don’t watch it.
      I’ve only heard things. 🙂

      • oh says:

        PS thanks for not liking that waitress, either, the one who peremptorily cleared the table. And it was barely bright enough in there to read at the table. Sheesh.

      • shoreacres says:

        No, I didn’t watch DA – remember, I’m the one who threw out the tv!
        So, no Jersey Shore for me, either – although I had an aunt and uncle who lived in Manhattan and spent plenty of time at the Jersey shore.
        Even after he died, she and her sisters-in-law always went. For them, it just was “da shore”. 😉

  • RL says:

    The orginal patent for television listed its primary purpose as “Aid to the the Shut-in”….How right they were! For me, nothing like a flickering B&W film noir from a half-century or mor ago to give me a sense of history, companionship, perspective and context on modern living.

    Yes, like all mass media from early radio to today’s 300 24×7 channels, TV is full of stink, fluff and trash. But when it hits its mark, it is priceless.

    Thanks for sharing and don’t touch that remote.:)

    • oh says:

      Ah, I agree. Looking at the “oldies” wreaks such comfort and when a striking “newbie” comes along, we can hardly believe it and so turn it into the next cliche (so to speak).
      There is a lovely book at B&N about Downton Abbey, the actors, the costumes, the “look”, the story, etc. Sounds lovely.

  • Heather says:

    Go to the right, go to the right…. remember, a book commits suicide everytime some watches Jersey Shores!

    • oh says:

      Funny! go to the right, go to the right!!!!
      Made me laugh.
      And I’d forgotten about that book suicide…even though I had it posted on my wall!!!!

      Nope. No worries. Haven’t watched JS yet. No intentions to do so. So there’s that plotless piece of junk and here we are, striving to get our books written and published. Egads, it’s a bit out of whack regarding what passes muster, what doesn’t, eh?

  • marmeladegypsy says:

    Perfect cartoon. Perfect! There were some good Downton cartoons — I’m so glad you loved it as much as I — and yes, sometimes media is what makes you be at home when you’re not! Happy Easter!

  • Arti says:

    No dilemma for me, none at all. And Linda, nice rendition of a Frost remake. But this is a no brainer for me, make a right to Downton Abbey, any night.

  • Typehype says:

    Uh huh, just love that Downton Abbey. Can’t wait until it starts up again. Poor Mr. Bates. He’s like Job. What will befall him next? I hope he starts speaking out in his own defense. Poor Anna is shouldering too much of it. Dignified silence is admirable, but up to a point. It’s been rumored that someone’s going to die in Season 3. I hope it’s not the Dowager Countess. She’s priceless. I love her.

  • Mel u says:

    Just stopping by to say hello as three years ago you,were one of the first commentators on my blog take care

  • news says:

    If you dont mind, exactly where do you host your web page? I am looking for a very good host and your web site seams to be extremely fast and up almost all the time

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Tuesday…rather a cartoon of a day at This Writing Life ....

meta

