Extremes…it all will make you laugh out loud…

April 11, 2012 § 10 Comments

THE TITLE OF THIS COVER:  “CARRY-ON LUGGAGE”

It’s true. In order to avoid baggage fees, people carry their own weight in “stuff”, all jammed into one or two pieces, onto the plane. You can’t blame them. It’s worth the try, unless you’re in the last group to board in which case finding space to stash your stuff is challenging…you can just fuggedaboutit.

I cannot bear dragging things around, either. The thinner and lighter, the better. There have been moments when I’d gladly disown my own purse (ok, it’s rather large) when running through Chicago’s interminable terminals.

It’s truth that makes us laugh, oddly.  So this cover on The New Yorker, April 16, had me LOL-ing.

Tagged: , , ,

§ 10 Responses to Extremes…it all will make you laugh out loud…

  • shoreacres says:

    I’m jealous! You got your copy before I got mine! The covers have been so good recently, but this one is great – so full of truth.

    Even beyond travel, it’s a pretty good metaphor for the way we live our lives – trying to cram way too much into the time/space available. On the other hand, that does suggest another advantage of the Smart Car!

  • boardinginmyforties says:

    That picture definitely brings on the LOLs!

  • Dale says:

    A very humorous and sadly true representation of many travelers. Like you, I travel light; an overnight bag suffices for my trips to Jakarta and Moscow.

  • Ha, I am so the person that is cramming her massive carry-on into an overheard compartment (and always seem to board last so end up having to check it most of the time). I mean, I bring hot rollers on my biz trips, so there is just no way for me to pack light. 😉

  • Arti says:

    Wouldn’t it be convenient if we could travel ‘star-trek’ style, dematerialize our luggage and have them reappear when we get there. BTW, glad to know some magazines are still having hardcopy issues subscribers … considering even the NYT is thinking of publishing online only one day. 😉

  • Typehype says:

    OMG, this is so true. The things people put into the overhead. A friend of mine was traveling back from the islands, when the plane hit a bump. The door to the overhead bin flew open. A very large bag fell out and hit him in the head. HIdden inside was a tremendous jar of honey, which broke. Not only bonked on the head, he was basted in stuff and had to ride all the way home that way. My sister is a flight attendant. Oh, the stories she can tell…

  • Bella Rum says:

    LOL What a funny cover. Truth is much funnier than fiction. Humor is always funnier when we relate to it. I hate to fly, but we flew out to see the grandkids a couple of months ago. We smushed everything we could into our carryons, and I left it to my husband to find room for them in the overhead compartment. He’s taller.

  • marmeladegypsy says:

    Love that cover! I bet it’s waiting for Rick at home! I tried to pack well on my trip, but by the end the darned things were so heavy, hauling them up three flights of narrow steps in London was a little — shall we say, challenging?

  • Care says:

    Oh the war that is carryon-luggage. 🙂

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Extremes…it all will make you laugh out loud… at This Writing Life ....

meta

