Summer…coffee…really? yes!

September 9, 2012 § 15 Comments

My Dad used to drink coffee even in the heat of the upstate New York summer (temperatures then and there averaged around 73 degrees farenheit).
“Why?”I once asked him, thinking that classic Coke was the only thirst quencher during the heat of an Adirondack summer.
He explained that though it might make him sweat, any resultant sweat would actually cool him down, especially when a foothills breeze kicked up.

He might have answered my young-pup self, stating that he just plain loved coffee.
Becuase he did.
Also, in the ’60s, it was promorted as “think drink.” I liked that idea and years later, while at college, I found coffee-and-a-cigarette to be just the morning eye-opener. (OK, not for long on the cigarettes…sometime after studying in France, I gave them up, not enjoying the feeling of an army walking across my chest when waking.)

I did not give up coffee. It’s like I inherited the coffee gene from my Dad (impossible, he was my step-dad) and I consider it a luxury, as dessert, as a meal (sometimes at work, yeah, I know what you’re going to say) and as a date with HM, whether we’re cafe-ing or sitting in the living room, talking, reading and sipping.

Here’s a favorite place in St. Louis that you just might want to try out. They serve free trade coffee and somehow brew it strong without that miserable burned acid kick that so many places proudly brew. When in town, give it a whirl. It’s Shaw’s. Shaw’s Coffee LTD is privately owned, publicly popular!

Tagged: , , , ,

§ 15 Responses to Summer…coffee…really? yes!

  • Dale says:

    How appropriate; just finished my Sunday morning ritual of Sunday Denver Post and coffee with Jane…and it is almost noon and 79 degrees on this fine summer morning.

    • oh says:

      Hi! bet your gardens looks fabulous…but can you believe it’s september already? Lea getting married in 4 weeks, so we’re in serious detail-prep stage here.

  • Typehype says:

    Every A.M. on the way to work I pick up a coffee w/ milk at the same “silver” carts parked on every other corner on 5th. (They know me by now, so they have it ready and I don’t have to wait. They get the milk just right and, as you’ve said, their coffee lacks that “burned acid kick” – it tastes like Dunkin’ Donuts coffee, which is my favorite). June thru August, cup in hand and trekking those long extra 2 1/2 blocks to work breaks me out in a sweat before I’ve even taken a sip. I cannot sit at my desk with a peaceful loving feeling if I’m missing my morning brew. If only I could find a favorite spot on the weekends –with a vacant seat in this overly crowded city!

    • oh says:

      Dear T, You remind me of all the things I love about the City and all the things that challenge me about it, as well. But really, they know how to fix your coffee? Oh, indeed, it is now “home”for you. Must catch up and will check in later…

  • shoreacres says:

    What? 73 degrees is hot!? My, my. What a difference a few degrees of latitude makes!

    Down here, of course, it’s iced coffee that makes the summer tick. Cold-brewed is the best, done slow in a Mason jar, then filtered and iced. You can add a little milk and sugar if you like, but no need. It’s the smoothest in the world.

    • oh says:

      Hi, Shore! I’m slowly, very slowly drifting back into blog world. It will take ages to catch up with all your posts I’ve missed, so I’ll just start with where you are now…

      Oh yes, 73 degrees in upstate New York moutains in the summertime was warm-hot. All those gorgeous serious and historical trees keep it cool. Mornings on the lake were often 68 degreees!

  • RL says:

    Shaw’s Coffee is one of my go-to spots in STL for partner meetings, a thoughtful quiet moment and for their exotic coffee blends by the pound. I enjoy sipping my coffee in the ‘vault”…Check it out when you get there!

    • oh says:

      The vault is kinda cool/creepy. Teh room withint a room. I lvoe Shaw’s – what lovely airy room in there…a little bit Vienna -cafe-ish. Not that I”ve been to a cafe in Vienna!

  • Care says:

    I like the logo of Shaw’s coffee. My in-laws drink coffee all day, every day, every day of the year.

  • Arti says:

    Recent studies have shown that coffee is good for you. So, it’s a health drink now. I’ve never thought summer is too hot for coffee, lol! But you know, Tim Horton’s (our national coffee shop) is selling ice cream as well. Sales for all seasons.

  • Bella Rum says:

    I’m sipping my coffee while reading this. Nice.

  • jeanie says:

    Love the smell of coffee, not the taste! But if they approve my trip to St. Louis (that’s still up in the air), we’ll have to go and I’ll have a tea!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Summer…coffee…really? yes! at This Writing Life ....

meta

