There is always pie…

September 10, 2012 § 21 Comments

This summer, there was pie. And funny little tablescapes. Apple pie, cherry pie, French silk pie, peach pie…
Sometimes there pie was for breakfast, which seems like the only breakfast entry that could possibly rival a delicious bit of  bacon, one egg cooked just so and a lovely piece of French bread with sweet butter.
Such late night thoughts…

(what’s in the little white dish? Why, raw sugar of course, to sprinkle on top of the pie when it’s hot from the oven…)

What’s your favorite breakfast?

Tagged: , , , ,

§ 21 Responses to There is always pie…

  • Bella Rum says:

    You’re killing me here. I’ve only just returned to my long lost diet. That pie looks delicious. I made peach cobblers this summer. The peaches from our local farmers were beautiful and juicy and sweet. My favorite breakfast is a cold, leftover drumstick unless a salt herring fillet is lurking around.

  • allisonsarah says:

    Looks delicious and a great photo! You should enter it into Canon’s Project Imaginat10n https://www.longliveimagination.com

  • Typehype says:

    Double Latte or cafe au lait drunk from one of those small bowls (like the French); chocolate croissant; or goat cheese and asparagus omelet; good friend(s) and suddenly I’m in the movie “Red”…

    Also like “breakfast for dinner” – in that case: PANCAKES – and suddenly I’m a kid again 🙂

  • RL says:

    Pie is indeed one of the great comfort food families for me. I will go further with Boston Creme Pie, Mince Pie, coconut custard, lemon merangue, yikes, I am drooling like a wombat on novacaine…..

  • shoreacres says:

    My grandma was determined that pie was breakfast food, particularly a big slice of apple with cheddar cheese. You could put a little of her sage sausage next to it and it was wonderful.

    But my favorite breakfast? Hmmmm…. For just breakfast, yogurt, cereal and fruit. But for brunch? English muffin piled high with lump crab meat, poached eggs and chipotle hollandaise. 😉

  • Just swinging by to say hello! It was such a pleasure to meet you the other night at journaling, and I look forward to following your blog!

    By the way, you hooked me at pie!! I was just discussing pie with my co-workers this morning and now I’m craving a slice right now!! The picture looks so yummy, dripping red from the edges!!

  • litlove says:

    Your pie looks wonderful. Alas, my chronic-fatigue beating diet of no sugar and no yeast (and no caffeine or alcohol) makes for strange breakfasts. I usually have oat cakes and peanut butter (the no sugar, no salt kind) with a banana. Sometimes I have unsugared porridge with fruit on top. But I do miss things like pie.

    It’s nice to see you back posting!

    • oh says:

      Ah, but you’re so right to not touch sugar. I’m trying, I am. But sometimes,I just make a pie! Yes, good to be back and will be over at your blog by the weekend – much catching up to do!

  • Heather says:

    Did someone say pie? Ummmm pie……

  • oh says:

    Yay for baking! Which I’d like to do right now…what goes better with writing? well, besides baking, coffee, certain music, a good sharpened pencil, sunlight, a dog at one’s feet…

  • aubrey says:

    What a lovely photo – those sugary, red icicles dripping from the crust are simply hypnotic.

    However, I was never one for sweets. My favorite breakfast would be a breakfast burrito the size of a dirigible and strong, French roast coffee.

    • oh says:

      as big as a dirigible – that’s great! Me? you could put anything in a pie, sweet or savory, and I’d enjoy it. Yup, it’s a crust thing! As for the French roast coffee – yes! anytime.

  • jeanie says:

    Breakfast is my favorite. Anytime. Love eggs (scrambled, omelet, even poached), sauteed diced sweet potatoes, bacon or sausage. Sometimes even oatmeal. Never got into biscuits and gravy, though. Good thing — I have enough vices. And yes, pie would be quite fine, too!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading There is always pie… at This Writing Life ....

meta

