summer…drinks

September 17, 2012 § 3 Comments

Little Archie comes creeping, creeping on little fingered paws. She’s come nearly every morning (that Í’ve been looking) for a drink, taking the same path, taking the same pauses midway.

She’s a third gen nearby-tree squirrel as far as I can tell and she often travels alone tho’ I think she has two brothers. Very wary and very fleet, she is. This birdbath (or was it really for holding seeds? We don’t know)…anyway, this birdbath used to be Huck’s outdoor drinking bowl in the summer. So he thought. He lapped up the water whether it was hot or cold, fresh from the hose. Which is partly why we are not annoyed or astounded that Archie sips here. Huck wouldn’t have cared. We are tickled to see a critter braving the wall and sitting up to put her paws on the side of the bowl to drink.

Then she scampers off to eat her fill of sunflower hulls and hominies.

Tagged: , , ,

§ 3 Responses to summer…drinks

  • shoreacres says:

    My mom had a squirrel who came to her place, too. It amused her no end that the squirrel showed up at the same time every day – about 1:30 in the afternoon. Lunch break, I suppose.

    This one’s a cutie! I just was thinking of my Smackers today when I saw a few early, fallen acorns. It always was my chore, going out and gathering a winter’s full of acorns to freeze for him.

    Don’t they have long toes!?

  • marmeladegypsy says:

    She’s awfully cute! But how can you tell girl or boy? I never can with rodents! All my squirrels in the hood are socking their nuts away in my flower pots! Or, maybe they are un-digging them!

  • Oh my gosh i love it! So cute!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading summer…drinks at This Writing Life ....

meta

