December 28, 2012 § 7 Comments

DSC_0455

Christmas day “gifts” (chestnuts under the tree) for the little Archies (squirrels) that come around to eat underneath the bird feeder.
They did find these and went leaping joyfully into the backyard woods to stash them. (sorry, no pictures of their “shopping”and ultimate delight).

While yesterday it seemed a good idea to start de-decorating the house, today it has become impossible. In fact, instead, I’ve walked through the house, turning on all the holiday lights and candles to ramp up the “cheer”on this cold gloomy day.

And the question will soon become (after cleaning up the kitchen and a few other bits of chores), what to read? Pippa Middleton’s cookbook? Laurie R King’s 3rd book in the Mary Russell/Sherlock Holmes series? the current New Yorker magazine? more of Anna Karenina? The Discovery of Witches? or, more of Cloud Atlas?
The reading list gets curiouser and curiouser.

Tagged: , , ,

§ 7 Responses to

  • That was kind of you to leave a gift for the squirrels. The ones around my parents lake cabin are SO FAT. I do not know how they scurry up the trees like they do!

    So many books, so little time right? I just requested 4 books from the library this week so I have my reading cut out for me. Right now I am reading The Light Between the Oceans which I am really liking, and up next I will probably read Little Women for a book club!

  • Heather says:

    Try to read Cloud Atlas but not successful. Did like Discovery of Witches though…

  • I think you should go with Discovery of Witches! Loved that one!

  • Richard says:

    Squirrels are so cute and yours must love you dearly for all your winter kindnesses! I am six books behind in my reading myself and despite time off for the holidays, not making much progress….Thanks for sharing!

  • shoreacres says:

    I’ve a new friend coming around myself – a pigeon with either a broken or badly injured foot, which it can’t use. It flys perfectly well, but balance and standing are problems. I’m putting out extra shelled sunflower see and finely chopped pecans – high density calories with no effort required. 😉 And I’m keeping the water bowl filled to the brim, so he can stand on the railing and get to the water in the bowl. We do what we can – it’s the season!

    While you’re dawdling in the gloom, I took a notion today and nearly have all the Christmas things put away. I feel a real eagerness to move into the new year – I’ll be ready when it comes!

    Reading? Right now, I’m finishing a browse through a big book of poetry – Pattianne Rogers. Wonderful, wonderful words. But I only have a week left – I’d better browse faster. There are 500 pages of poems!

  • jeanie says:

    I’m so glad Archie has his own decorated tree — not his house, but his own ornamental tree. Judging from that book list, you had quite the Christmas — and how perfect is that. No, I’m not an early put-awayer. The White Tree will stay up much of the winter. I just love the lights and the warmth they bring. It’s always too lovely to let go!

  • HAHAHA So cute and little! lol

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading at This Writing Life ....

meta

