Vacay!

July 13, 2010 § 7 Comments

aaaccckk! can’t believe it!!!!!
Time off, time out, time on the East Coast…

In the land of stars and stripes, lawyers and feds, suits and blue shirts, politicos and pretty darn cool conversations as they go by on the streets, in the hotel lobby, in the garden restaurants and at the convention center.

Snapping pictures like crazy – there is so much red, white and delirious blue, it could affect a girl’s wardrobe! Glad I brought a navy dress – absolutely NOT boring here.

And experienced my first blog meet up – only as a guest, but what a trip, what a wonderful time, what sincerity,and hello to Mandy, Becky (new blog buddies!) and many thanks to Nora for breakfast, for including me, and congrats for her recent shout out from WordPress!

Will write more about Blog Meetup, also thoughts on swimming laps and getting lost in museums and getting around above ground, although the Metro is cool – give me air! huge, hot, din-ful, energy mad, wonderful urban air!

Rethinking Twitter. It’s a hot restaurant tool here, with comments and come-ons and invitations and “dialogues” from chefs to patrons happening here. Food is hot in social networking but even more so in terms of “new” regarding vegetables in their own right and NOT as substitutes for meat…and the White House kitchen garden DOES exist tho’ no glimpse of that innovative 30-something baseball-to-kitchen chef . 

Gotta get off this lovely biz centre PC and get to our room to write.
More later!!!!

Tagged: , , , , , ,

§ 7 Responses to Vacay!

  • shoreacres says:

    All it took was reading through this to be breathless and adrenalin-rushed and urban again. I’d never live inner city or urban again, but it sure is fun to visit!

    I’m so glad you’re having a good time – can’t wait to read more. Laughed truly out loud at your twitter-and-veggies take, though. Socially networked food??? I’ll have to talk to my carrots about that tonight!

  • mandy says:

    It was so lovely to meet you in person. I hope that you are enjoying Washington.

  • qugrainne says:

    Oh! My! Goodness! I am breathless just reading about it! And food twitter…. I am going to take a bit of convincing on that one.
    So glad you are traveling and having so much fun! 🙂

  • ds says:

    Wow. I’m worn out just reading this. Agree with Linda–I am not ready for my dinner to be socially-networked. Glad you are having so much fun in DC!

  • jeanie says:

    Wow — sounds like you are having an awesome time! No social networking tech at dinner for me! But after — we’ll talk!

    Never been to DC and eager to get your impressions! Keep posting!

  • CLo says:

    No, you can’t get Twitter. It’s awful. No one knows how to use it right, including me.

    Glad D.C. was kickin’ though.

  • oh says:

    Why not? why no Twitter? I just want to try it out… stay tuned.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Vacay! at This Writing Life ....

meta

